Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > can White Labs vials be frozen?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2007, 01:56 PM   #1
miatawnt2b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Steelers Country
Posts: 233
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default can White Labs vials be frozen?

I am wondering if a new white lab vial can be frozen (is there glycerine in the vial to protect the yeast?) The reason I ask, is that I think it would make sense to just take a sample from the orig vial, make a starter and pitch that. Then throw the remaining vial back in the freezer. This way you could probably get 10-20 gen 0 cultures, and don't have to worry about mutation or yeast washing/harvesting.

-J


miatawnt2b is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 02:14 PM   #2
brewt00l
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 3,739
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

IIRC there is only yeast and nutrient in the vial...nothing to prevent the yeast from getting zapped when frozen.


brewt00l is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 02:22 PM   #3
Funkenjaeger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Funkenjaeger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,637
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Default

I seriously doubt it, otherwise they'd probably advertise it that way.

In theory you could just pour out some of the yeast slurry and add some glycerine to the tube in its place... But I have not frozen yeast before - can you really just grab a sample and chuck the rest back in the freezer? Don't you have to thaw it each time, and wouldn't that be really hard on the yeast?
Funkenjaeger is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 03:00 PM   #4
Rhoobarb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rhoobarb's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 3,573
Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

No, they can't. You'd have to do as Funkenjaeger says and add glycerine. That's how I store my washed yeast if I'm looking to store it long-term.
Rhoobarb is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 03:13 PM   #5
miatawnt2b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Steelers Country
Posts: 233
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks... This is how I store my yeast as well, and I was just thinking that it would be less hassle to just freeze the orig vial. It would be simple enough to add 1/2 glycerine to the vial though.
-J
miatawnt2b is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 03:59 PM   #6
Dr Vorlauf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dr Vorlauf's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lehigh Valley,PA
Posts: 540
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhoobarb
No, they can't. You'd have to do as Funkenjaeger says and add glycerine. That's how I store my washed yeast if I'm looking to store it long-term.

Do you sterilize the glycerine?
Dr Vorlauf is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 04:01 PM   #7
miatawnt2b
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Steelers Country
Posts: 233
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Vorlauf
Do you sterilize the glycerine?
I never have... I just use what is in the first aid section of my pharmacy. I'd assume it's sterile.
-J
miatawnt2b is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 04:05 PM   #8
SenorWanderer
Beer Maniac
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
SenorWanderer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 588
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

you would need to sterilize the glycerine, and adding enough glycerine to make a 50% solution is too much. 15%-20% of the total solution is all you want. like funkenjaeger said, those yeastys wont be very happy being frozen and thawed all the time.
SenorWanderer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 04:14 PM   #9
Jesse17
Yep....I tell you what...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Jesse17's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miles City, MT.
Posts: 564
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SenorWanderer
you would need to sterilize the glycerine, and adding enough glycerine to make a 50% solution is too much. 15%-20% of the total solution is all you want. like funkenjaeger said, those yeastys wont be very happy being frozen and thawed all the time.
How do you sterilize the glycerine? Do you boil it? Could you fill some tiny masson jars and sterilize/can it in a pressure cooker?
Jesse17 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 05:28 PM   #10
broadbill
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 3,526
Liked 345 Times on 244 Posts
Likes Given: 261

Default

Yes, technically you should sterilize the glycerin. For all practical purposes you really don't need to, at least in my opinion. The Glycercin you buy at the drug-store will come sterile up until you open it, and the same goes for opening the vial of yeast.

Although it is possible that something might float into the vial while it is opened and contaminate the culture, it is extremely unlikely given the time-frame in which the frozen stock of yeast will continue to be viable.

Whoever brought up the fact that the freeze/thaw is the bigger issue is correct. 10-20 uses out of a single vial is probably not going to be possible...maybe 3-4 tops.


broadbill is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
white labs vials at room temp kevmoron Fermentation & Yeast 7 10-29-2009 08:21 PM
For Sale - Want to trade - Harvest Wyeast 3333 (German Wheat) for empty White Labs vials Pivzavod For Sale 25 10-23-2009 07:40 PM
Frozen Yeast Vials mlee0000 Recipes/Ingredients 5 02-02-2009 05:15 PM
Frozen White Labs Yeast evandam Recipes/Ingredients 4 01-16-2009 07:19 PM
Frozen White Labs abonzer Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 11-30-2008 03:24 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS