What's wrong here?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-Liam-

Reaction score
As a beginner, I have to date, brewed 3 IPAs, a weissbier and a milk stout (I have Jamil's West Coast Blaster fermenting as I write also). I cracked open a weissbier the other night, a little early but I wanted to check one out. I genuinely exclaimed "wow!" when I tasted it. I used to drink my fair share of weissbiers back in Europe and I know how they should taste, so I was very excited when I tasted my brew, especially knowing that it'll get even better over the next couple of weeks. I checked my final gravity on my milk stout and drank the hydrometer sample. Again I remarked "wow!", and it's not even carbonated! I'm particularly excited about that one. Exciting times in my homebrew learning and discovering. But my question is this - why do my IPAs suck?! Is a good IPA actually a very difficult brew to get right or is it that something like a weissbier is hard to mess up because of the simplicity of the ingredients? I don't know where I'm going wrong. I generally hit my gravity readings. Sanitation is good. I have controlled temps, etc etc. I love a good IPA and I would really like to be able to brew one!

What do your IPAs taste like? Why do they taste off? Your process and ingredients would help too.

It's hard to put my finger on it. They taste kind of muddled and amateurish. They certainly don't make me say "wow!" that's for sure. It's not that they are a chore to drink but I don't find myself that excited to drink them either!