Ranco controller - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Ranco controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2007, 07:06 PM   #1
jhansen
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Posts: 2


Hi all. Just joined this place. Greetings!

I have a converted chest freezer, and my Ranco controller continually displays the error message E2. A little bit ago, it would do that until I unplugged it and reset the temperature. But now it won't work. Does anyone have any tips? And possible repairs? I already opened it and checked the continuity to the probe, and it was fine.

Jeremy

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 05:01 PM   #2
WOP31
 
WOP31's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Posts: 1,342
Liked 14 Times on 7 Posts


Sorry, I can't help you out, but I am giving your thread a little bump incase anyone else can chime in.

And welcome to the forum.

When did you buy it? I think that I would call the store where you bought it if it is new.


Cheers
__________________
"Yes, I am a pirate two hundred years too late. The cannons don't thunder there's nothin' to plunder,
I'm an [under] forty victim of fate, Arriving too late, arriving too late."
-Jimmy Buffet

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 05:20 PM   #3
Joker
 
Joker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Orygun
Posts: 1,953
Liked 32 Times on 29 Posts


Don't have one but a quick search got me this:
http://www.automatedaquariums.com/ranco.htm

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 10:27 PM   #4
jhansen
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Posts: 2

Thanks. I bought it a few years ago, but I have forgotten where. This certainly is one of the favorite models for fridge conversion.

I'm wondering if it is permanently dead.

Jeremy

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 02:56 AM   #5
CplHunter
 
CplHunter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Joliet, IL
Posts: 73

Don't mean to promote the competition but...

http://forum.northernbrewer.com/viewtopic.php?p=421642

Here's a snippet:

I contacted Ranco (which took longer than I expected, because there contact customer service email link was hard to find)...anyway, Ranco suggested I reset the unit (power cycle it) and if that doesn't fix it the unit will need to be replaced. Since I power cycled it a few dozen times I'm pretty sure one more time won't help it work any better.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual use ranco controller? rmwood Brew Stands 6 08-27-2009 03:18 PM
Ranco Controller - Is this the right device? Eskimo Spy Equipment/Sanitation 5 01-02-2009 09:41 PM
Ranco controller Go Gators Equipment/Sanitation 8 05-29-2008 02:06 PM
Help...Ranco controller Onescalerguy Equipment/Sanitation 7 07-08-2007 04:39 AM
Ranco ETC-111000 controller Fingers Equipment/Sanitation 8 06-22-2007 12:47 AM


Forum Jump