Stir plate fan speed controller??? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Chillers & Stir Plates > Stir plate fan speed controller???

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2014, 09:53 PM   #1
GeorgiaMead
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 445
Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts



I have a 12v power supply, my fan is 12v and I got a 10ohm potentiometer. I am doubting my choice in 10 ohm... Is that high enough or should I get a rheostat that goes up to 100 ohm? I wanna do this the cheapest most efficient way possible... Suggestions from the experienced people would be appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 09:55 PM   #2
poptarts
Recipes 
 
Mar 2013
Laramie, Wyoming
Posts: 1,946
Liked 457 Times on 324 Posts


http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Mo...hermaltake+fan

this was the best deal i could get, works like a champ. I think many on here use it as well.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 09:58 PM   #3
GeorgiaMead
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 445
Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts


That Is a fan, I have 2 fans, I just need info on the rheostat or what speed control I need to use


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:01 PM   #4
big_len
Recipes 
 
Nov 2013
Belfast
Posts: 137
Liked 37 Times on 22 Posts


Consider a 12v led dimmer module. These can be found on eBay for buttons (~$2-$3) and use PWM - very effective for motor speed control.

EDIT: Link -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/DC12V-24V-8A...item43c36500e6

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:04 PM   #5
GeorgiaMead
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 445
Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts


Is there a certin one you would recommend? A link perhaps?


There it is thanks!!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:05 PM   #6
big_len
Recipes 
 
Nov 2013
Belfast
Posts: 137
Liked 37 Times on 22 Posts


Realised this afterwards and edited my post - moments too late it would seem !

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:07 PM   #7
GeorgiaMead
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 445
Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts


It's all good, how would I fit this in a project box? I may need to get a larger box possible if it goes in straight up


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:12 PM   #8
big_len
Recipes 
 
Nov 2013
Belfast
Posts: 137
Liked 37 Times on 22 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgiaMead View Post
It's all good, how would I fit this in a project box? I may need to get a larger box possible if it goes in straight up


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew
There is just a single board inside these with some wires to the knob on the front - the box they come in exaggerates the size of them greatly. See the thread below for shots of the internals: but pay no attention to the modifications they are making - they do not apply in this circumstance. Since the knob is connected via wires this should give you flexibility in how to squeeze it into another box.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/slo...dimmer-432147/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 10:39 PM   #9
GeorgiaMead
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 445
Liked 36 Times on 34 Posts


Fantastic sir! So just cut the board off or just run the board in the box? I'm new to this type of electrical work. I'm very able to do most other stuff... Sorry for all the noob questions


Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 11:19 PM   #10
big_len
Recipes 
 
Nov 2013
Belfast
Posts: 137
Liked 37 Times on 22 Posts


I disassembled mine and took some photos for you.

This is the complete unit. The knob literally pulls off and there is a nut underneath to undo that holds the workings underneath in place. There are also 4 screws on the face of the device to remove.


This reveals the internals - and the knob should now also be free of the front cover of the device. Now the external green wire terminal just pull out again - literally just pull out and the board itself is held by two screws that need removed.



What you are left with is the actual parts you need that are at the bottom of this image and a knob as well. Everything else has little purpose. To mount the knob, all you have to do is drill a hole in your box to accept the it and use the nut taken off earlier to secure it in place.

bgeek Likes This 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stir Plate Wiring Help - Fan Speed Not Working enthuzed Chillers & Stir Plates 9 08-13-2013 03:15 PM
Stir Plate Speed Control ChargersSB Equipment/Sanitation 5 10-27-2012 04:39 PM
Stir Plate Speed Control laho72 Chillers & Stir Plates 6 08-22-2012 12:34 AM
What speed for stir plate should I use? losman26 Fermentation & Yeast 16 02-20-2012 11:13 PM
Stir Plate Speed Mookie Fermentation & Yeast 1 12-14-2011 02:11 AM


Forum Jump