15 gallon kettle - What to buy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoEasy11

Reaction score
I am new to BIAB and I need some advice.

I am upgrading to a 15 gallon kettle for BIAB. I have 3 brands in mind but I am unsure of what bells and whistles are need at this point. Here are what I are felt the best options for me. If you have any other feelings free to suggest them.

1 - http://www.rebelbrewer.com/shop/boilermaker-brewpots/boilermaker-brew-pot-15-gallon/
Pro - This has all the bell and whistles, any thing you need and more.
Cons - Themometer placement seems poor, Cost $395

2 - http://spikebrewing.com/collections/15-gallon-stainless-kettles
Pro - customization, lets me pick what I need with out going over board
Con - Cost is only slightly cheaper then Blichmann if you get a similar setup

3 - http://www.bru-gear.com/store/p11/ProBoiler(tm)_15.html
Pro - Supporting a start up company, Lowest cost by far
Con - Thermometer, Unknown quality

If you could choose a set up which would you go with?
Is a sightglass good, bad, or who cares?
Is Spike side thermometer just the best setup because I probably won't be going over 5 gallons often?

All these kettles have shipping included in there prices