23amps and 14gauge wire, only used in panel? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 23amps and 14gauge wire, only used in panel?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2014, 04:18 AM   #1
mikescooling
 
mikescooling's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,007
Liked 270 Times on 204 Posts



Hey guys, I'm only talking about hooking one component to another, only inside the panel. ONLY IN THE PANEL, you can use smaller wire, because the runs are shorter, is what I'm reading? It's called open air wire rating.
Found a calculator
http://www.gorhamschaffler.com/wire_...alculator.html

http://wiktel.com/standards/ampacit.htm

And again this tread is about panel wire size from component to component. I've had a few of my threads locked for name calling, so lets be better than that. Thanks for any helpful input?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:25 AM   #2
Facinerous
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Facinerous's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2013
Posts: 377
Liked 60 Times on 48 Posts


If you have the 14 ga wire and no 12 then I can understand why you would ask. Aside from that I would highly recommend you use 10 ga.

Its not technically free air. Free air is when the wire is suspended on poles outside. The higher ampacity is from the air circulation around the wire dissipating the heat quicker. Inside a panel it is no longer free air.

Technically you could get away with 12 ga wire as the nec says that its rated for 23 amps, but I still recommend 10 ga.
__________________
We learn best from our failures, not our successes.

mikescooling Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:34 AM   #3
mikescooling
 
mikescooling's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,007
Liked 270 Times on 204 Posts


Good to know, thank-you Facinerous. I was reading about it and thought I'd ask. I have a boat load of wire, so I could do 10 gauge. It seemed like a good topic. I'm doing my panel build now, looks like this

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 04:47 AM   #4
Facinerous
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Facinerous's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2013
Posts: 377
Liked 60 Times on 48 Posts


Well its lookin good. It will be pretty crammed with wire by the time you are done I am thinking.
__________________
We learn best from our failures, not our successes.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 12:36 PM   #5
dhoge
 
dhoge's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2013
Indialantic, Florida
Posts: 62
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


What is the trick on connecting 10 awg to the smaller terminals, that most of the components have. For example- from the switch to the contactor.
__________________
Carpe Cerivisciam

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 12:45 PM   #6
MagooBrew
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Posts: 927
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts


The wires that control relays and contactors are not carrying a 23 amp load. These are low amperage so 14 gauge would be fine. On most applications the only 10 awg you should need would be your line in and the wires feeding the elements on the load side of a contactor or SSR.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Home Brew mobile app
__________________
"A flute with no holes is not a flute......
....... and a doughnut with no hole is a Danish."

Ty Webb

augiedoggy Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 07:17 PM   #7
mikescooling
 
mikescooling's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,007
Liked 270 Times on 204 Posts


For control wiring, I stepped down to 24volts, so you can use much smaller wire. The panel is not finished, I have no switches or light yet, but I'm getting closer by the day. And I have to have my new BK TIG welded. Then I can brew again.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 11:23 PM   #8
crazyirishman34
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
crazyirishman34's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Newton, MA
Posts: 1,811
Liked 87 Times on 76 Posts


Yes in a cabinet is considered a free air application. When they are talking about transmission wire they are talking about wire in a cable or conduit.
__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 06:54 AM   #9
kenh
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Oct 2013
Posts: 256
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikescooling View Post
Hey guys, I'm only talking about hooking one component to another, only inside the panel. ONLY IN THE PANEL, you can use smaller wire, because the runs are shorter, is what I'm reading? It's called open air wire rating.
Found a calculator
http://www.gorhamschaffler.com/wire_...alculator.html

http://wiktel.com/standards/ampacit.htm

And again this tread is about panel wire size from component to component. I've had a few of my threads locked for name calling, so lets be better than that. Thanks for any helpful input?
Here are the maximum ampacities for chassis wiring, which is not the same as the NEC Code ratings for the romex cable in your house walls.

#14 THHN copper wire is good for up to 25 Amps
#12 THHN copper wire is good for up to 30 Amps
#10 THHN copper wire is good for up to 40 Amps

These ratings come from The Handbook of Electronic Tables and Formulas for American Wire Gauge. This data is also in NEC Table 310-16.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 07:48 AM   #10
atoughram
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Puyallup, Washington
Posts: 1,713
Liked 245 Times on 183 Posts


I used 18ga behind a 6a circuit breaker on the low amperage hookups, PID power, etc.

I've used #10 for the 25a circuits with 12/3 SO for the element cords. Nothing gets hot.

NFPA 70 is the often quoted electrical code, but in my opinion, NFPA 79 is the code which fits these panels better. Unfortunately I don't have a copy of it.
__________________
Clover Creek Brewery, Puyallup WA Home Brewers of Puget Sound
Planning - Something Sinister
Fermenters - Carbon River Hefeweizen OG 1.052
On tap - SAMM I am IPA 1.069

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 28 10-28-2016 11:15 AM
Where to buy internal wire for control panel? smittygouv30 Electric Brewing 21 02-22-2014 08:37 PM
How much wire did you use in your panel? Docbruw Electric Brewing 10 01-08-2014 08:38 PM
3 wire 240V Spa Panel to 4 wire out (AGAIN) Ducheney123 Electric Brewing 9 12-09-2012 03:05 PM
Spa panel before 3 wire dryer outlet Andrwb33 Electric Brewing 8 11-29-2012 06:49 PM


Forum Jump