Floating Hydrometer... - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Floating Hydrometer...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2007, 06:03 PM   #1
TerapinChef
 
TerapinChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
St. Clair Shores, MI, Michigan
Posts: 1,021
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts



Just curious if anyone had thought of just floating their hydrometer in the secondary fermenter and leaving it there...I use all glass and hate to open it up at all...and I know that there are thermometers meant to be left floating in the fermenter, so was wondering if it would be okay, if anybody has done it, or if anyone knows of a good reason why I shouldn't do it.....
__________________


See My Profile for Current Brews

My 3/4 Ton Brewstand "Build"

The Belgian Lady Brewery

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:09 PM   #2
olllllo
[]-O-[]
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
olllllo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2006
Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 13,330
Liked 140 Times on 114 Posts


1) I'll get gunked up making it difficult to read and inaccurate.
2) It may break when removing it from the empty carboy when done if not careful.
3) It would be better to utilize a sampling strategy that minimizes contamination and get practiced at it.
__________________
Rabbit And Coyote Schwag
Rob - Phoenix Ambassador to Milwaukee
Where did your avatar go?
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:14 PM   #3
Joker
 
Joker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Orygun
Posts: 1,953
Liked 33 Times on 30 Posts


I agree once you got krausen the readings and the ability to read once it gets crusted up would be gone.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:19 PM   #4
Duffey
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Liked 5 Times on 1 Posts


I've floated it in the secondary before. Wait until everything on the surface of the beer settles down before you put it in. A small amount of foam will form around the hydrometer, so it can be tough when you need to check the single-digits.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:21 PM   #5
missing link
Recipes 
 
Jul 2007
Highland, MI
Posts: 648
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


If you can do without the hydrometer until your beer is done, it might work after the Krausen drops.

If it's sterilized and dropped in, it would less likely to introduce contamination than multiple attempts to siphon samples out.

Like the others said, any goo sticking to it would make it hard to read and the goo might affect your readings if it were to make the hydrometer heavier or more bouyant.
__________________
Tap#1 = Beer
Tap#2 = Beer

THey change to often to keep up with the Sig.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:33 PM   #6
BierMuncher
...My Junk is Ugly...
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
BierMuncher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
St. Louis, MO
Posts: 12,410
Liked 789 Times on 435 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by olllllo
1) I'll get gunked up making it difficult to read and inaccurate.
2) It may break when removing it from the empty carboy when done if not careful.
3) It would be better to utilize a sampling strategy that minimizes contamination and get practiced at it.
+1 and all that stuff.

Ain't worth it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 07:05 PM   #7
mr x
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Mainly Halifax
Posts: 1,576
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I do it all the time. Works like a charm.

I even leave them in the primary, that makes them hard to read when you have a lot of activity, but not impossible.
__________________
This place really went to hell. Follow the OF standard stout. Bye.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:15 PM   #8
derogg
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Aliso Viejo, Ca
Posts: 159
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Why would you want to leave it in the secondary? Fermentation should be complete before beer goes into the clearing tank , right? Your gravity should not drop much more during the secondary process. I agree that it is not worth it. - Dirk
__________________
Bier frisch und gut, schafft frohen Mut.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:17 PM   #9
malkore
 
malkore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Nebraska
Posts: 6,922
Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by derogg
Why would you want to leave it in the secondary? Fermentation should be complete before beer goes into the clearing tank , right? Your gravity should not drop much more during the secondary process. I agree that it is not worth it. - Dirk
Damn you beat me to it. I too was going to ask why you'd need a hydrometer in secondary. the beer should be done, or within .002 points of being done...so it shouldn't even be necessary.
__________________
Malkore
Primary: English Mild
On tap: Pale Ale, Lancelot's Wheat, English Brown Ale, Steam Beer, HoovNuts IPA
Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 02:24 AM   #10
TerapinChef
 
TerapinChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
St. Clair Shores, MI, Michigan
Posts: 1,021
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Well.....Beermaking brought me to ask the question but I was actually considering it more for a mead project than anything else...I don't ever really test my beer except when I'm making it and when I'm bottling it. But for a mead I think it would be very useful as the yeasties can often work on a batch of mead for quite a long time I am told...
__________________


See My Profile for Current Brews

My 3/4 Ton Brewstand "Build"

The Belgian Lady Brewery

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yeast floating on top? businesstime Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 10-05-2009 03:37 PM
Mid-brew... hop bag floating? jajabee Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 05-28-2009 01:03 AM
Floating hop bag bdnoona Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-03-2009 09:25 PM
Floating Troob? nickjam Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 06-01-2007 05:23 AM
Something's floating in there... MikeRLynch Mead Forum 0 03-27-2007 12:28 AM


Forum Jump