Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Floating Hydrometer...
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2007, 06:03 PM   #1
TerapinChef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TerapinChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI, Michigan
Posts: 1,090
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Floating Hydrometer...

Just curious if anyone had thought of just floating their hydrometer in the secondary fermenter and leaving it there...I use all glass and hate to open it up at all...and I know that there are thermometers meant to be left floating in the fermenter, so was wondering if it would be okay, if anybody has done it, or if anyone knows of a good reason why I shouldn't do it.....


__________________


See My Profile for Current Brews

My 3/4 Ton Brewstand "Build"

The Belgian Lady Brewery
TerapinChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:09 PM   #2
olllllo
[]-O-[]
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
olllllo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 13,513
Liked 134 Times on 110 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

1) I'll get gunked up making it difficult to read and inaccurate.
2) It may break when removing it from the empty carboy when done if not careful.
3) It would be better to utilize a sampling strategy that minimizes contamination and get practiced at it.


__________________
Rabbit And Coyote Schwag
Rob - Phoenix Ambassador to Milwaukee
Where did your avatar go?
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter
olllllo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:14 PM   #3
Joker
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Joker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orygun
Posts: 1,963
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I agree once you got krausen the readings and the ability to read once it gets crusted up would be gone.
Joker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:19 PM   #4
Duffey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Liked 5 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I've floated it in the secondary before. Wait until everything on the surface of the beer settles down before you put it in. A small amount of foam will form around the hydrometer, so it can be tough when you need to check the single-digits.
Duffey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:21 PM   #5
missing link
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Highland, MI
Posts: 667
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

If you can do without the hydrometer until your beer is done, it might work after the Krausen drops.

If it's sterilized and dropped in, it would less likely to introduce contamination than multiple attempts to siphon samples out.

Like the others said, any goo sticking to it would make it hard to read and the goo might affect your readings if it were to make the hydrometer heavier or more bouyant.
__________________
Tap#1 = Beer
Tap#2 = Beer

THey change to often to keep up with the Sig.
missing link is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:33 PM   #6
BierMuncher
...My Junk is Ugly...
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BierMuncher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 12,337
Liked 709 Times on 401 Posts
Likes Given: 260

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olllllo
1) I'll get gunked up making it difficult to read and inaccurate.
2) It may break when removing it from the empty carboy when done if not careful.
3) It would be better to utilize a sampling strategy that minimizes contamination and get practiced at it.
+1 and all that stuff.

Ain't worth it.
BierMuncher is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 07:05 PM   #7
mr x
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mainly Halifax
Posts: 1,589
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

I do it all the time. Works like a charm.

I even leave them in the primary, that makes them hard to read when you have a lot of activity, but not impossible.
__________________
This place really went to hell. Follow the OF standard stout. Bye.
mr x is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:15 PM   #8
derogg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Aliso Viejo, Ca
Posts: 164
Default

Why would you want to leave it in the secondary? Fermentation should be complete before beer goes into the clearing tank , right? Your gravity should not drop much more during the secondary process. I agree that it is not worth it. - Dirk
__________________
Bier frisch und gut, schafft frohen Mut.
derogg is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:17 PM   #9
malkore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
malkore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 6,922
Liked 34 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by derogg
Why would you want to leave it in the secondary? Fermentation should be complete before beer goes into the clearing tank , right? Your gravity should not drop much more during the secondary process. I agree that it is not worth it. - Dirk
Damn you beat me to it. I too was going to ask why you'd need a hydrometer in secondary. the beer should be done, or within .002 points of being done...so it shouldn't even be necessary.
__________________
Malkore
Primary: English Mild
On tap: Pale Ale, Lancelot's Wheat, English Brown Ale, Steam Beer, HoovNuts IPA
Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10
malkore is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 02:24 AM   #10
TerapinChef
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TerapinChef's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Clair Shores, MI, Michigan
Posts: 1,090
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Well.....Beermaking brought me to ask the question but I was actually considering it more for a mead project than anything else...I don't ever really test my beer except when I'm making it and when I'm bottling it. But for a mead I think it would be very useful as the yeasties can often work on a batch of mead for quite a long time I am told...


__________________


See My Profile for Current Brews

My 3/4 Ton Brewstand "Build"

The Belgian Lady Brewery
TerapinChef is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yeast floating on top? businesstime Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 8 10-05-2009 03:37 PM
Mid-brew... hop bag floating? jajabee Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 05-28-2009 01:03 AM
Floating hop bag bdnoona Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-03-2009 09:25 PM
Floating Troob? nickjam Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 06-01-2007 05:23 AM
Something's floating in there... MikeRLynch Mead Forum 0 03-27-2007 12:28 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS