Simple control box help - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Simple control box help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
derfburg
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 4


I am trying to figure out how to wire up a simple control box to run a pump and be covered by GFCI and incorporate these switches.

To turn pump on & off:
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=223

To show power to the unit is on:
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=248

I use this for GFCI protection now:
http://morebeer.com/products/single-...i-adapter.html

All I want to to is this:
http://www.do-it-yourself-help.com/o...-diagrams.html - (Switch to a Split Receptacle)
and have the button above in place of the switch and the red LED to be on to show power to the unit in on. No idea how to wire in that button or light.

**if possible I would like to hard wire in a GFCI into the box so the whole thing is contained in the box.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 10:20 PM   #2
jCOSbrew
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 619
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts


Control panel is probably overkill. you should be able to buy a 2 gang electrical box, outlet, and a toggle switch for about $10 at HD or lowes. Sacrafice an extension cord for the power input to your switch box.

luhrks Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 11:39 PM   #3
luhrks
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 340
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


+1 get a 2 gang outdoor box and a simple 100v light switch.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:11 AM   #4
derfburg
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 4

Thank you for the replies. I don't think that I worded this right.

I use a Tower of Power (for now, sent back twice so far) and plan on going to a Brewbit. My current set up is like above but in a toolbox, that uses A GFCI in line w/ a switched outlet one hot, one off a switch. I run the pump off the switched outlet and TOP off the hot outlet.

I want to add the LED inline to show the box has power and the lighted switch in place of the normal switch that is there now. Not really clean on how to do this.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:47 PM   #5
BigFloppy
Recipes 
 
Aug 2013
Marietta, GA
Posts: 906
Liked 118 Times on 83 Posts


Do not add the indicator LED in series, run it's very own Live and Neutral

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 04:21 PM   #6
jCOSbrew
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 619
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts


If you take a standard household 110v outlet (w/ two positions) you break the metal bar connecting the two sockets and can wire one outlet for always on and the other outlet for switched. Connect the 110v hot (black) wire in series with the switch on the switched outlet.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 12:04 AM   #7
loucurr
Recipes 
 
Jun 2013
Posts: 112
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts


How do you remove/break the metal bar?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 03:29 AM   #8
Ki-ri-n
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ki-ri-n's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
Richfield, WI
Posts: 458
Liked 65 Times on 46 Posts


Use a pliers to twist it back and forth until it breaks.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 12:09 AM   #9
LordUlrich
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Rochester, MN
Posts: 540
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


If it were me I would use a GFCI outlet from the local home store, should be cheaper than the one from more beer, and are typically duplex. You could either switch that, or use it as an "always on" and setup your switched outlet on the load side of that device (the outlets allow you daisy chain cheaper duplex outlets and still protect them).
__________________
Don't take any more faith in anything I say than you would anyone else on the internet. If you listen to what I say, then hurt your self or break something it is your own fault, I am just expressing my opinion or experience.
THINK for your self!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 03:03 PM   #10
derfburg
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 4

Just an update from my original post. Top outlet is switched for the TOP/Brewbit, Bottom is for the Pump. I have a red LED light I might toss in later in the top just to show power to the box but this is good for now. I am gonna get a sticker made for it from a buddy that owns a sign shop.

I got a Panel from a Fire Protection pump and just used all the wiring from it, that is why it is all red. I already had the GFCI from Morebeer so just using it to help keep the size of the box down.




 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
simple control panel mendozer Electric Brewing 83 07-07-2014 03:50 AM
Wiring up a simple PID control box. Cazamodo Electric Brewing 5 02-12-2013 05:02 AM
simple kettle control? killian Electric Brewing 1 11-10-2012 04:29 AM
Simple SSR PWM power control nilo Electric Brewing 13 10-04-2012 04:17 PM
help with a VERY simple control box tkone Brew Stands 11 12-11-2009 08:46 PM


Forum Jump