flight sim X - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > flight sim X

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2007, 08:04 AM   #1
z987k
 
z987k's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Anchorage
Posts: 3,518
Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts



Anyone else play this? I like to mess around from time to time, but I just bought the acceleration expansion pack, which is cool, it includes a TT P-51 and an F-18. There's missions with carrier landings and everything. Only thing that I think is retarded is the F-18 over-speeds (Vne) at 700some knots, when in real life it's more around 1,350knots...almost twice.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 03:40 PM   #2
Flyin' Lion
 
Flyin' Lion's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2005
Chester, VA
Posts: 1,949
Liked 18 Times on 8 Posts


I've wanted to get a flight sim, but only have a laptop. What else does someone need to play this, a joystick? What about the rudder, do you need pedals?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiobrewtus
John Madden has officially been put on suicide watch with the annoucement of Favre's retirement.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 03:58 PM   #3
MTpilot
 
MTpilot's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
Billings, Montana
Posts: 136
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I've spent way too much time flying the Red Bull Air Races. Those things are freakin' hard.

I just use a joystick and the keyboard. Rudder pedals would be nice, but unnecessary. Those fake airplanes stay pretty well coordinated all on their own.
__________________
Primary: Spurhund Zunge (Berliner Weisse), C&C for C's (gluten free Pale Ale)
Conditioning: Pomapfelwein, Oaked Imperial Stout
Drinking: Juniper Pale Ale, Baltic Black Porter, Single Malt IPA
Planning: ?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 04:06 PM   #4
shafferpilot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
shafferpilot's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
Cincinnati OH
Posts: 1,579
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


That's a good "game". Ok, it's not really a game at all. There are some missions, but they get old after a short time. Then there are the missions that are nearly impossible. What it works very well for is flight training. I'm in the middle of my instrument flight training, and real time in a real plane is VERY expensive. I can't log my FSX time, but it sure does help a ton with my training. The best feature of this "game" is its adherence to real life. the airplane flight dynamics aren't perfectly accurate, they are close enough. But the navigation systems, terrain, air routes, approaches, and airports are flawlessly accurate. I wouldn't reccomend FSX for anyone that doesn't have a fairly new computer with really nice graphics card and a TON of RAM. For a laptop, you should stick to an older version of Microsoft Flight Sim as this newest version will be WAY too slow on any laptop. A USB Joystick is all that is needed, but like all things, the more money you have the more fun it becomes. I have a yoke and pedal set (about $250) and two computer screens to seperate the guages and forward view. Some people go overboard by building an entire simulator with hydraulic motion simulating motors run by seperate computers and homemade interfaces. Do some google searching and you'll be amazed by what some people have come up with. If either of you have anymore questions, feel free to ask, I've been using Microsoft's flight sims for many many years.
__________________
A great man knows that he knows NOTHING

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 10:33 PM   #5
flyboy
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 134
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


I had fsx and went back fs2004. fsx is a memory hog Didn't like the graphic either ( unless you like desert landscape ). Got FSpassengers to go with fs2004 to add realism to it. FSpassengers rates you flight by having you earn "money" by having a good flight and taking care of your passengers. They also scream if you scare them too much. They have a free download at www.fspassengers.com. Until you buy, you can only use it for flight originating from KSFO. You don't need rudder pedals. If you want, you can make your own. There's plans on how to do it all over the flight sim community. But they're not required. I've used MSFS for many years back with version 2 on the Mac. It inspired me to get my private license in 2002. I have a cheap joystick for about $15 from Frys Electronics. Some people go nuts making their "flight deck". I'm studying for my IFR license and use it to practice approaches and to have fun. You can check out a couple sites I visit that have lots of addons: www.avsim.com and www.flightsim.com


 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 10:45 PM   #6
Jester369
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Jester369's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2007
Vermont
Posts: 1,829
Liked 218 Times on 142 Posts


I prefer x-plane I love designing my own planes and trying them out!
__________________
The 'Original' Keezer!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 10:49 PM   #7
flyboy
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 134
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyin' Lion
I've wanted to get a flight sim, but only have a laptop. What else does someone need to play this, a joystick? What about the rudder, do you need pedals?
I use mine on a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. Works fine. Frame rates are between 12-15 frames a second. Not as nice as my desktop (30+ frames a second) but very respectable. And useable.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 01:02 AM   #8
z987k
 
z987k's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Anchorage
Posts: 3,518
Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts


I'm an instrument pilot working on commercial and I have never found it too useful for real life training, I could do approaches for Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Wisconsin as those are the approach plates that I actually have, but other than that I'd just a guess as to what your DH or MDA is on an appraoch. I also wish they had an Piper Arrow in there, as that's what I'm flying now.

I use a logitech joystick that has rudder build in, and MTpilot, you need to turn off the autorudder. With the extra 300 and the new p-51 you need a lot of rudder to make a coordinated turn, and just to climb out full power.. especially the p-51 I think they listed it like 2000hp with the twin turbo setup. It's crazy, flying along ~150in Hg and 2500rpm.

So it's large shortcomings to me are, it needs the approach plates for all of the airports, it allready gives jeppesen charts for the missions so why not any other airports? Next it needs power charts and such for all the aircraft, heck some don't even have a reference for Vy, V1,R,2 etc. How do you push the limits without Vspeeds and performace charts.

Finally on the F-18, I know these stats are true: Climg rate: 45,000ft/min, service ceiling ~50,000, top speed Mach 1.8. The F-18 in the game can do none of those.

My computer is a Core2duo 4400 running 2.67Ghz with a Nvidia 6600OC and 1.5Gb DDR400. Runs ~30fps on mostly high settings.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 01:33 AM   #9
shafferpilot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
shafferpilot's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2007
Cincinnati OH
Posts: 1,579
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by z987k
I'm an instrument pilot working on commercial and I have never found it too useful for real life training, I could do approaches for Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Wisconsin as those are the approach plates that I actually have, but other than that I'd just a guess as to what your DH or MDA is on an appraoch. I also wish they had an Piper Arrow in there, as that's what I'm flying now.

I use a logitech joystick that has rudder build in, and MTpilot, you need to turn off the autorudder. With the extra 300 and the new p-51 you need a lot of rudder to make a coordinated turn, and just to climb out full power.. especially the p-51 I think they listed it like 2000hp with the twin turbo setup. It's crazy, flying along ~150in Hg and 2500rpm.

So it's large shortcomings to me are, it needs the approach plates for all of the airports, it allready gives jeppesen charts for the missions so why not any other airports? Next it needs power charts and such for all the aircraft, heck some don't even have a reference for Vy, V1,R,2 etc. How do you push the limits without Vspeeds and performace charts.

Finally on the F-18, I know these stats are true: Climg rate: 45,000ft/min, service ceiling ~50,000, top speed Mach 1.8. The F-18 in the game can do none of those.

My computer is a Core2duo 4400 running 2.67Ghz with a Nvidia 6600OC and 1.5Gb DDR400. Runs ~30fps on mostly high settings.

By paying for those upgrades to your simming experience. I have a FULL 747 aircraft for FSX. About 90% of the switches work. cargo hatches etc. Plus, I use the real plates to simulate approaches and such. You can set the exact ceilings in the weather options. Or there are other programs the will select the weather for you in all kinds of configs.
__________________
A great man knows that he knows NOTHING

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 09:31 AM   #10
z987k
 
z987k's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Anchorage
Posts: 3,518
Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts


Yeah but you think they could at least get the airplanes right, I don't know as much about some of the others, so I can't say they missed them also.

As far as weather goes, I know you can change it, and I also use the approach plates that I have, but I'm not going to go out and buy them or print them off for every approach in the country. You would think they could at least provide out of date ones for the game, I mean they're free on the internet anyways, just a pain to get to while in flight sim.

Don't get me wrong, I love the game, but those are some of it's shortcomings that seem easy to fix.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone bring a carboy on an air flight? JSBacchanal Equipment/Sanitation 11 05-30-2009 02:11 PM
Hops and Props at the Museum of Flight gplutt North West Homebrew Forum 0 02-14-2009 08:55 PM
Flight Glassware wizardofza Bottling/Kegging 0 05-19-2008 01:15 AM
US Flight Patterns Beerthoven General Chit Chat 9 04-30-2008 01:22 PM
F-15 Flight simulator Dude General Chit Chat 22 05-20-2007 07:52 AM


Forum Jump