will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > will this switch work for turning off CAMCO element?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2013, 08:28 PM   #1
twd000
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Tucson
Posts: 431
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts



http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...howFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 08:34 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-3...1#.UppLr5Uo61s

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:08 AM   #3
kenh
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Oct 2013
Posts: 256
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by twd000 View Post
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...howFullReviews

After digging though the trays at Radio Shack, this is the closest match I could find. I need to connect both hot legs of 240V supply so that I can guarantee no current is flowing even when PID is OFF.

It's rated 10A @ 250V. Do I need one that rated 23A to cut power to a 5500W CAMCO element?
That 10 Amp switch definitely won't work. The contacts are rated to carry 10 Amps, not just break 10 Amps. I searched through their web site and none of their switches will work.

You could use the switch to turn a relay or contactor on & off. Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:48 AM   #4
RichBenn
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Tahoe
Posts: 836
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts


Almost everyone uses contactors when using 240 volt circuits, because switches typically only go up to 20A. Look through P-J's diagrams to see how these are connected. This allows you to use switches designed for much lower current, which are way cheaper and going to be safer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 01:47 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenh View Post
...
Maybe someone on the list can post a link to a 240 VAC contactor rated at 30+ Amps with a 240Volt coil?
Here you go: Auber Insrument: - Contactor, 2 pole 40 A, 240V coil

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 01:57 PM   #6
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 26,588
Liked 7027 Times on 4161 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes, you need a higher rated switch, or a suitably rated double pole, single throw, normally open, definite purpose contactor with the switch controlling the coil. Home Depot has a 30a double pole switch that will work, that looks like a regular wall switch. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-3...1#.UppLr5Uo61s
This switch is available at Home Depot. It's 2-pole. 30A. 240VAC. I've been using them for years with my 5500W elements. What else is there to say?
__________________
- Andrew

atoughram Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This relay work for element power switch? fingling5 Electric Brewing 5 12-31-2013 10:30 PM
No name element vs camco? sablesurfer Electric Brewing 3 11-22-2013 07:08 PM
Camco element question Wine-Em_Dine_Em Electric Brewing 1 02-22-2013 07:22 AM
Camco element mux Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2012 01:23 AM
Camco Element Question illin8 Equipment/Sanitation 3 02-26-2010 08:03 PM


Forum Jump