Brutus Ten ???? - Page 13 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Brutus Ten ????

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2008, 04:16 AM   #121
korndog
 
korndog's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
westlake village, ca
Posts: 1,119
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimone
kegs are at welders getting couplers welded into place. So now I really need to start on my thermowell QDs. I ordered one of B3's new thermowell with the heat guard and my LOVE temp probe wont fit. I need to figure something else out
Dang. Good to know. I thought they were the same as the old ones with heat guard added. Can you give more detail on the misfit? I was just about to place this order.

http://www.dwyer-inst.com/HTDOCS/tem...wellsIntro.cfm
__________________
"..can the human soul be glimpsed through a microscope? Maybe, but you'd definitely need one of those very good ones with two eyepieces."


Twitter: LarryKonis


 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 10:54 PM   #122
Lonnie Mac
 
Lonnie Mac's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2006
Bacliff, TX
Posts: 304
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


That darn vinyl they paint on the probes! I should have mentioned that the vinyl coating renders these probes useless for a .250" thermowell. I removed the coating with ease down to the nice .250" brass probe awaiting underneath! A small bastard file and/or a bit of sandpaper did the trick nicely. Why they do this I don't have a clue, but they fit the thermowell's great with the coating removed with no degradation in accuracy. They must think it looks cool! Take it off... It works great!
__________________
Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:52 AM   #123
korndog
 
korndog's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
westlake village, ca
Posts: 1,119
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by colplink
That darn vinyl they paint on the probes! I should have mentioned that the vinyl coating renders these probes useless for a .250" thermowell. I removed the coating with ease down to the nice .250" brass probe awaiting underneath! A small bastard file and/or a bit of sandpaper did the trick nicely. Why they do this I don't have a clue, but they fit the thermowell's great with the coating removed with no degradation in accuracy. They must think it looks cool! Take it off... It works great!
Awesome post. Many thanks.
__________________
"..can the human soul be glimpsed through a microscope? Maybe, but you'd definitely need one of those very good ones with two eyepieces."


Twitter: LarryKonis

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:07 PM   #124
Desert_Sky
 
Desert_Sky's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 4,077
Liked 53 Times on 41 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by colplink
That darn vinyl they paint on the probes! I should have mentioned that the vinyl coating renders these probes useless for a .250" thermowell. I removed the coating with ease down to the nice .250" brass probe awaiting underneath! A small bastard file and/or a bit of sandpaper did the trick nicely. Why they do this I don't have a clue, but they fit the thermowell's great with the coating removed with no degradation in accuracy. They must think it looks cool! Take it off... It works great!
dude, you so rock!!

thanks Lonnie
I was wondering if there would be any adverse affects to taking off that vinyl coating. Great post and thank you.

Question......for your QD thermowell, did you cut down the length of B3's thermowell to fit inside the T fitting?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:55 AM   #125
Lonnie Mac
 
Lonnie Mac's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2006
Bacliff, TX
Posts: 304
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


No, I didn't... It was only about 3" long or so... It fit the tee fitting nicely.

I did forget to add though, I still had probs fitting the probe into the thermowell but it was the thermowell at fault. Seems natural though, when they weld the thermowell to the plug fitting, the metal at the entrance of the thermowell shrinks a bit so you can't get the .250" probe to insert. you can fix this with a rat tail file or a .250 reamer like I did.

File's have cool names! Rat Tail, Bastard...
__________________
Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:54 AM   #126
jmurri
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
Posts: 1

Since Lonnie appears not to be selling the plans for the brutus ten any longer, would someone who has purchased be willing to send me a copy. If someone is willing to I will make a donation to Lonnie in the amount of $25. I have ordered the issue of BYO that the plans appeared in, but I would also like a copy of Lonnie's original
Thanks
Jason

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 02:01 AM   #127
Desert_Sky
 
Desert_Sky's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2006
Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 4,077
Liked 53 Times on 41 Posts


the guy who posted above you is Lonnie. Send him a PM

*edit

and here is a pic of mine. Just picked it up today. It going to go back since the control panel arm is in the wrong place, but easy fix. Assembly is going smooth so far




 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 02:47 AM   #128
Lonnie Mac
 
Lonnie Mac's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2006
Bacliff, TX
Posts: 304
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmurri
Since Lonnie appears not to be selling the plans for the brutus ten any longer, would someone who has purchased be willing to send me a copy. If someone is willing to I will make a donation to Lonnie in the amount of $25. I have ordered the issue of BYO that the plans appeared in, but I would also like a copy of Lonnie's original
Thanks
Jason
J, email sent my friend...

Chimone, that pic is a teaser! I need much more from you! I can already see that it looks GREAT!

Yes, I emailed the powers here to try and see if I can change my screen name to Lonnie Mac without having to purchase a new account. I never received a reply...

For all purposes, colplink is Lonnie Mac! I have had that goofy screen name since the Commodore 64 days... It is time to let it go!
__________________
Lonnie Mac...
President of the Brutus Ten cult!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 05:36 AM   #129
BrewBeemer
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
small island paradise, the lost atoll
Posts: 3,500
Liked 25 Times on 25 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimone
ok question.....

more beer has those very nice SS quick disconnects for 30 bucks a set. Has anyone seen them for less anywhere else? If not Ill settle for brass ones. Well Im either going quick disconnects or those clover ones used in the real breweries. Not sure yet, we'll see how much I have leftover from my refund.

And yes the chiller is going to be another 100 bucks or so. Going with a plate chiller
They do not specify the maximum temperature the rubber seal can tolerate.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 04:02 PM   #130
korndog
 
korndog's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2007
westlake village, ca
Posts: 1,119
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrewBeemer
They do not specify the maximum temperature the rubber seal can tolerate.
If they are Snap-Tite's with Buna-N seals, they are rated for -40F - 250F. I'm not sure if this is the case since B3 doesn't make it easy to get information from their pictures.
__________________
"..can the human soul be glimpsed through a microscope? Maybe, but you'd definitely need one of those very good ones with two eyepieces."


Twitter: LarryKonis

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Brutus Rig hooks Brew Stands 19 08-17-2011 11:09 AM
My Brutus 9 1/2 Simphoto02 Brew Stands 68 10-03-2009 09:36 PM
Brutus 5?! FreebootersBrewing Brew Stands 7 08-19-2009 06:17 PM
Brutus 5? Simphoto02 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 0 08-09-2009 08:12 PM


Forum Jump