Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Transplanting dormant plants
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
benzy4010
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,136
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Transplanting dormant plants

Grew hops in containers for the first year as I am a first year grower. I an on planting the
In the ground because I have the space for them now. What do I do. Do I need to just place the whole big rootball in the ground or do I need to clip some?


benzy4010 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:42 PM   #2
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 13,836
Liked 1921 Times on 1495 Posts

Default

Unless you have a deep rich bed of soil already, you should do some soil prep first. When you're finished with that, yes, put the entire plant in the ground with the crowns at the same elevation relative to grade as they had in the pots...

Cheers!
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 04:49 AM   #3
Cyclman
I Sell Koalas
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Cyclman's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 5,522
Liked 596 Times on 500 Posts
Likes Given: 207

Default

+1
__________________
Give a man a beer, waste an hour. Teach a man to brew, and waste a lifetime! Bill Owen quote

Why does Happy Hour limit happiness to 1/24 of the day?
Cyclman is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd Season Plants Still Dormant (Colorado) Bearfoot Hops Growing 5 06-09-2013 03:56 PM
Is it dead or dormant? kansasbrew Hops Growing 4 09-04-2012 04:00 AM
Transporting/Transplanting young hop plants jotakah Hops Growing 2 05-20-2012 11:49 PM
Cold and dormant? krazydave Fermentation & Yeast 4 01-12-2011 06:11 PM
, Dormant, or Done? jawats Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 6 02-21-2009 06:32 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS