New burner or upgrade regulator? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > New burner or upgrade regulator?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2007, 10:40 PM   #1
Didymus
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17


Did my first AG last night, also first 10gal batch. Went ok, didn't get the SG I was aiming for but I suspect the crush, hit my temps fine. But the wort would not boil well. Only with the lid on would it boil at all.
So I have this bayou classic burner:
http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/sq1...ane_burner.htm

Which has a 10PSI regulator and apparently 55k BTU. Should I look at a new burner, or try upgrading to a 20PSI regulator?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:00 PM   #2
Scimmia
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


From what I've heard, that burner on that model doesn't respond to a 20 PSI regulator. The 15 PSI one might work, though, apparently Lowes or someone is selling them that way.

Edit: it was Home Depot, thanks to the_bird for the link http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...ctId=100121665


 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:10 PM   #3
Didymus
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17

I got it at home depot and I'm not fairly sure its 10PSI. What is the issue with the 20PSI?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:12 PM   #4
Scimmia
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


From the site you linked to earlier: http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/bg1...ron_burner.htm

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:26 PM   #5
Didymus
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17

Thanks Scimmia. I wonder if I could mount a different burner on the stand, as it is pretty nice IMO...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:37 PM   #6
Scimmia
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
QCA, Iowa
Posts: 959
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


Not a problem at all. How does it mount, from the bottom? If so, it could be difficult to fab up something else to work.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 02:10 AM   #7
Didymus
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17

Yeah it mounts from the bottom.

Does the hurricane / Banjo burner mount from the bottom? Kinda hard to tell from the pics online..

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 02:20 AM   #8
HighPlainsDrifter
 
HighPlainsDrifter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2007
Coosaw Island
Posts: 830
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts


The Banjo mounts through the sides of the windscreen with 4 bolts.

You would have to build a 11 1/4" diameter windscreen to mount the banjo on that particular stand.
__________________
HTTR
Quote:
Originally Posted by YooperBrew View Post
It took me both hands just to squeeze it


 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 02:22 AM   #9
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


Nope, it has 4 threaded holes on the outer "rim", and this makes it a PITA to mount. I'm still not in love with how mine are mounted, but it works for now. Check my gallery for pics.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 01:28 PM   #10
Didymus
Recipes 
 
Oct 2007
Little Rock, AR
Posts: 17

That does sound difficult to mount on my current stand...
Anyone have the newer banjo burner with the 20PSI regulator? Is this sufficient for 10g batches or is 30 PSI really necessary?

Thanks for all the help guys.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From stove top to propane burner upgrade BeerFan21 Equipment/Sanitation 5 06-14-2009 10:16 AM
have to upgrade burner stand amishland Equipment/Sanitation 10 01-14-2009 12:57 AM
New regulator/burner test hammer one Equipment/Sanitation 6 01-12-2009 11:21 PM
Burner Upgrade? chefchris Equipment/Sanitation 1 09-15-2008 12:33 AM
will pot upgrade require burner upgrade? ChrisS Equipment/Sanitation 3 04-02-2008 02:29 AM


Forum Jump