Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > What Causes Gushers???

Old 10-17-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
glenn514
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 166 Times on 120 Posts
Likes Given: 46

Default What Causes Gushers???

Brewing friends...last night I sat down at the dinner table, ready to eat some delicious homemade pizza and enjoy a bottle of my Midnight Beatdown Wheaten Porter. I popped the bottle cap...and INSTANT GUSHER! I managed to pour well over half the beer into my glass, but the rest ended up on the table. This is the FIRST gusher I've had in this brew, and I'm wondering what could have caused it? Anybody want to offer some possibilities?

glenn514

Old 10-17-2013, 01:06 PM   #2
Cromwell
Recipes 

Liked 74 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

My guess, though I'm far from an expert, is infection. An infection will over carbonate your beer. It happened to me in one batch, and ultimately resulted in bottle bombs. Be careful.

Old 10-17-2013, 01:16 PM   #3
progmac
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 277 Times on 221 Posts
Likes Given: 344

if it's in just one bottle, it is (a) because the bottle wasn't quite sanitized and had some wild yeast/bacteria in it. or (b) because your priming sugar was mixed unevenly and this bottle got too much of the sucrose or dextrose.

if it is in every bottle, it is (a) because the batch was infected in some way or (b) because you bottled too soon and the beer hadn't finished fermenting

to me, the easiest way to know if it is an infection is from the taste. i find that most gusher-infection have almost a sort of belgian character to them. kind of hard to describe, but i know it when i taste it.
Old 10-17-2013, 01:25 PM   #4
Setesh
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 305 Times on 223 Posts
Likes Given: 337