How fast did you abandon kits from the brew stores? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > How fast did you abandon kits from the brew stores?

Old 11-05-2007, 03:06 AM   #1
Eat, drink, repeat
Mar 2007
Covina, CA

When I first started brewing, I definitely followed and used kits. While OK, I found them too......formula. Not very adventurous.

So, with my background as a chef, I worked to learn quickly what did what to produce what end result. Since then I love looking at other's recipes, especially if it is a new style of beer, but I'm constantly reading into it to see what I would like to make a beer more to my liking. But more then likely I am just writing it out myself.

So, after about 3 or 4 kits, I went solo.

Sez you?
Primary: McRed Irish Tail
Conditioning in bottle: Zip
Finished and drinking
: Red Tail clone - back to basics time
Up next: Red's Irish cousin
Then: Who knows

New motto (T'anks, Newguy!)
"for the love of all that is good and holy...NEVER DUMP YOUR BEER!!"

Old 11-05-2007, 03:31 AM   #2
Kevin Dean
Jul 2007
Frederick, MD
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by bruscar
after about 3 or 4 kits, I went solo.
Ironically, I'm the exact opposite.

I began with a kit and hated the results, so I began going with my own recipes and buying individual ingredients to make ones I see here...

It got so expensive with such little benefit that I've been brewing kits again for the last few sessions.

Mainly, I'm brewing kits because I can expect, in some way shape and form, the end result. With that in mind. I'm using the kits to pinpoint what I like in terms of style and in terms of specific ingredients.
Free State Project liaison to the homebrew hobby!

"What's your name? Well my mom calls me Son, and my cat calls me Meow, either will do." -- Sam Dodson of the Obscured Truth Network

Old 11-05-2007, 03:32 AM   #3
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
Feb 2006
Eldorado, WI
Liked 148 Times on 59 Posts