how do I get this pt100 into my HLT? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > how do I get this pt100 into my HLT?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2013, 01:15 AM   #1
Smellyglove
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 859
Liked 63 Times on 61 Posts



I've ordered one of these: https://payments.mobileweb.ebay.com/...4076&nFB=false

My plan is to use it for getting my strike and sparge water right. I'll also get another for the herms setup.

I want to have the sensor just over the valve on my MLT, usimg a fitting, but is it possible with the shape of the sensor?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:43 PM   #2
jpalarchio
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Holly, MI
Posts: 562
Liked 50 Times on 41 Posts


Better URL: http://www.ebay.com/itm/320759144076

I would guess you're going to need some kind metal probe end for it if you want to put it in a fitting or the sidewall off a vessel. That's not a common sensor that I've seen used before.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 04:27 PM   #3
MX1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
MX1's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,195
Liked 78 Times on 63 Posts


http://www.brewershardware.com/Weldless-Thermowells/

Try here, they have a FB page so you can ask them if they will work. I have had good luck with them getting back to me pretty quick.

Tim
__________________
"The ART of brewing Beer, is the ACT of brewing Beer"
https://txbrewing.wordpress.com

Ferm 1: Irish Red Ale
Ferm 2:

On Deck: American Wheat

Keg 1: Un-Common
Keg 2: Switchback Stout

Total Gallons brewed (2015) - 10

puterman41 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 06:52 PM   #4
Smellyglove
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 859
Liked 63 Times on 61 Posts


How do these thermowells work? How accurate will the temp-readings be? If it's air inside the well and I stick my probe in it I can't see that the reading will be very responsive.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 07:12 PM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Smellyglove View Post
How do these thermowells work? How accurate will the temp-readings be? If it's air inside the well and I stick my probe in it I can't see that the reading will be very responsive.
Just purchase a tube of Thermal Grease to provide absolute contact between the probe and the thermal well.

Problem solved..

P-J

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 04:44 PM   #6
Smellyglove
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 859
Liked 63 Times on 61 Posts


I found out you can get the sensors I got in a threaded 1/2" NPT version. So I'll just get a couple of those and I'm all good

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
Babybatch
Recipes 
 
Jun 2013
Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 148
Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Just purchase a tube of Thermal Grease to provide absolute contact between the probe and the thermal well.

Problem solved..

P-J
Ooo! Cool! Nice product. Is this something that you would standardly use on any thermometer or probe setup in a thermowell?

I can't see the scenario where I don't want the increased conductivity here.
__________________
"A man could work his whole life towards trying to make the ultimate quad and it would not be wasted." - saq

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:49 PM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Babybatch View Post
Ooo! Cool! Nice product. Is this something that you would standardly use on any thermometer or probe setup in a thermowell?

I can't see the scenario where I don't want the increased conductivity here.
Yes. You would want to use it where a temp probe is inserted in a tube that is not bonded to the probe.

Most of the probes available -like this on:



are bonded within the probe thus presenting no problems.

I hope this makes sense and helps.

P-J

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:40 PM   #9
BBBF
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Chicago
Posts: 1,375
Liked 98 Times on 80 Posts


So what I proposed here wouldn't work?

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/120...-herms-434159/

Using the same probe in a boil kettle with thermowell and removing the probe from the thermowell and measuring the germs return. Would I be better off using 2 different probes and plugging in each one as I need it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:46 PM   #10
Smellyglove
Recipes 
 
May 2013
Posts: 859
Liked 63 Times on 61 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Yes. You would want to use it where a temp probe is inserted in a tube that is not bonded to the probe.

Most of the probes available -like this on:



are bonded within the probe thus presenting no problems.

I hope this makes sense and helps.

P-J
What kind of sensor is that? I'm on the lookout for a Pt-100 with XLR connector (or another, as long as I can disconnect it for kettle cleaning). but haven't been able to find a pt-100 with that option.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAX31865 RTD to Digital Converter (pt100) Liquiddog Automated Brewing Forum 14 06-29-2013 07:19 AM
Two Wire RTD PT100 question Kdubbs Automated Brewing Forum 10 05-10-2013 03:47 AM
Any good alternatives to Pt100 RTD ? theQ Electric Brewing 27 02-05-2013 05:32 PM
How-To: Pt100/RTD 1/2" NPT Thermowell PaulHilgeman Kettles, Mash Tuns & Hot Liquor Tanks 12 05-11-2011 10:12 PM
Auber PID + RTD pt100 sensor issues. ScottSA Brew Stands 8 09-08-2010 02:11 PM


Forum Jump