Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Has brewing affected your opinion of commercial beers?

Old 08-26-2013, 10:01 PM   #1
Rhumbline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 214 Times on 143 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default Has brewing affected your opinion of commercial beers?

Just curious. I got into brewing because I have always liked beer. Never really been into the BMC side of things, nor the really oddball stuff. I mostly enjoyed the offerings from Dogfish, Longboard, etc.

I've noticed since I started brewing that commercial beers all seem bland at best. I was recently given a four pack of some special edition brew that was supposed to be fantastic. I could barely drink one bottle. Went to a local chain restaurant that brews their own and was equally unimpressed.

This isn't me saying that I brew better than the pro's, but I've noticed that if I'm as critical of the commercial brews as I am of mine they all fall short.

Anyone else experienced this?

Old 08-26-2013, 10:17 PM   #2
Dovage
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Sort of. I still like the micro brew stuff, but I enjoy less commercial lagers. I really used to enjoy Yuengling, Sam Adams, and even Blue Moon. Now, although they are still good, I don't dig them as much.

Bottled- Handy Men IPA
Residual Boulder Brown Ale

Old 08-26-2013, 10:29 PM   #3
TheSmithsEra
Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 23

1. Home brew
2. Micro-Brew
3. Craft Beer
4. Commercial beer
brewmcq Likes This 
Old 08-26-2013, 10:40 PM   #4
Beernik
Recipes 

Liked 448 Times on 334 Posts
Likes Given: 27

One of my epiphany moments was when I could tell the difference between a "bad" beer and a quality beer that had some ingredients I didn't like. Another moment was finding a beer I liked in a style I didn't like. Then it was finding a beer I liked with an ingredient I didn't like.