Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > partial mash efficiency

Old 10-26-2007, 05:28 PM   #1
Hercules Rockefeller
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default partial mash efficiency

Hey everybody, I'm new to partial mashes and was wondering what a typical effieciency for a partial mash is, so I can convert my extract recipes to PM. I've been using the rule of thumb 1lb grains = .75 lbs LME, but I'm wondering if I'm overstating the amount of fermentables I'm extracting from the grain. All I'm doing is throwing a few pounds of pale malt into the brewpot along with my specialty grains, in a big nylon grain bag. I steep in about 2 gallons of water for 45 min at 150 degrees, sparge with a quart of 170 degree water. Is it safe to assume I'll get roughly a certain amount of fermentables out of this or do I need to get a hydrometer and start calculating my brewhouse efficiency? I'm not particularly concerned with exact figures, I just want the beer to taste good

On deck: Breakfast stout
Primary: Empty
Secondary: American Pale Ale
Conditioning: None
Kegged: Imperial red ale, Breakfast stout, Chipotle Irish red ale, Biermuncher's C3C cream ale

Old 10-26-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
boothbrew
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

I don't know the answer to that but I like your pug.
I have two pugs at home.
One is the troublemaker and the other is the smart, good, obedient dog....

Bottled: -- Robust Porter
Up Next: --
Primary Fermenter 1: -- APA
Primary Fermenter 2: -- Witbier w/ Saison yeast
Primary Fermenter 3: -- Haus Lager
Secondary Fermenter 2:

Old 10-26-2007, 06:21 PM   #3
Orfy
For the love of beer!

Recipes 

Liked 74 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 30

You can estimate what you should get out but the only way to know is with the hydrometer.

Old 10-26-2007, 06:28 PM   #4
Beerrific

Recipes 

Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 9