Browesr Problems - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Browesr Problems

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2013, 04:28 PM   #1
Brutus Brewer
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Upper Sandusky, OH
Posts: 454
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts



There are 2 computers where I work that will not display our company web page. This is a recent development and it has me and the hosting company baffled. Most of the machines in the office are running Windows 7 or 8 except for 3 that are running XP, and it's 2 or those 3 that will not display the page. All that loads is a page showing the logo of the hosting company and the computer IP address.

So far I've flushed the dns, deleted all browsing history, cookies, etc, and the tech support at the hosting company has analyzed some connection parameters and they say everything is fine. Anyone have any ideas?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:00 PM   #2
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2008
Reed City, MI
Posts: 31,361
Liked 5011 Times on 3382 Posts


Off the top of my head I wonder if your DNS is correct. If by chance the machines that are displaying correctly are using cached data, and the ones that are not are using the current (incorrect) data, then flushing the DNS of the non-working machines does no good.

Maybe try flushing the DNS on a machine that IS working correctly will not show a logo?

Maybe do a traceroute from each of the machines and see what happens?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:06 PM   #3
Brutus Brewer
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Upper Sandusky, OH
Posts: 454
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Homercidal View Post
Off the top of my head I wonder if your DNS is correct. If by chance the machines that are displaying correctly are using cached data, and the ones that are not are using the current (incorrect) data, then flushing the DNS of the non-working machines does no good.

Maybe try flushing the DNS on a machine that IS working correctly will not show a logo?

Maybe do a traceroute from each of the machines and see what happens?
Thanks for your help!

I flushed the DNS of my machine and it still calls up the web page. I did a traceroute for the hosting company yesterday and they said it looked normal.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:40 PM   #4
ACbrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,735
Liked 142 Times on 124 Posts


1. Did the XP systems display the pages in the past.
2. any changes to your company homepage recently.
3. try different browsers.

My thoughts are along the lines of webbrowser compatablity.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:01 PM   #5
DrunkleJon
Objects in mirror are closer than they appear
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
DrunkleJon's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Alexandria, Virginia
Posts: 8,141
Liked 2512 Times on 1770 Posts


if it is IE, try a reset (tools >Internet options > advanced >reset) seems to fix a lot of IE problems. Check the hosts file in c:\windows\system32\drivers\ and see if there is an entry or maybe just perform a nslookup webpage on both a working and non working to make sure they call up the same ip address. Cuss at it. Loudly.

If all else fails PC load letter it like in office space. The other will work out of fear.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:15 PM   #6
Brutus Brewer
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Upper Sandusky, OH
Posts: 454
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ACbrewer View Post
1. Did the XP systems display the pages in the past.
2. any changes to your company homepage recently.
3. try different browsers.

My thoughts are along the lines of webbrowser compatablity.
1. Yes, the browser previously displayed the web page
2. No
3. Tried Firefox and Chrome

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:16 PM   #7
Brutus Brewer
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Upper Sandusky, OH
Posts: 454
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by DrunkleJon View Post
if it is IE, try a reset (tools >Internet options > advanced >reset) seems to fix a lot of IE problems. Check the hosts file in c:\windows\system32\drivers\ and see if there is an entry or maybe just perform a nslookup webpage on both a working and non working to make sure they call up the same ip address. Cuss at it. Loudly.

If all else fails PC load letter it like in office space. The other will work out of fear.
I will try that.

Thanks,

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:30 PM   #8
brew_ny
Social_Misfit
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
brew_ny's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2013
Charleston Four Corners, New York
Posts: 3,935
Liked 730 Times on 504 Posts


try this from a command prompt ipconfig /flushdns there is a space between ipconfig and /flushdsn

your DNS could be poisoned

S_M
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
A well made beer doesn't need time to age out off flavors, and you don't create off-flavors in the first place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1977Brewer View Post
I'ma make a beer. It'll have barley. Hops too. I'll like it, my wife will hate it.
"Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank. Give a man a bank and he can rob the world."

710 Brewing We go to sleep errly and wake up errly

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regulator problems? Or Judo problems? Judochop Bottling/Kegging 11 05-13-2015 03:14 PM
First all-grain...problems, problems, problems. Q2XL All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 30 09-13-2013 11:02 PM
Problems That Aren't Problems fargo234 General Beer Discussion 2 09-08-2012 01:02 AM
OG Problems aanstadt General Chit Chat 5 09-03-2012 06:23 PM
Problems with OG betch All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 12 08-03-2007 03:38 PM


Forum Jump