is this outlet 15A or 20A - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > is this outlet 15A or 20A

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2013, 01:07 AM   #1
jesserizzo
Recipes 
 
Jun 2012
Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 87
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts



Not electric brewing related, just general electricity question.

Is this outlet a 15A or a 20A? It doesn't have the cross on the neutral plug, but over on the left side it says 125V 20A. You can't see it on the bottom, stamped on the metal just above the screw, it says 125V 15A.

Probably just a typo, but wondering if anyone can shed more light on this. I'll probably replace it just be safe, since a new outlet costs considerably less than a new house if this one burns down.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130726_192754.jpg
Views:	430
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	137608  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
SpentGrains
Recipes 
 
Sep 2012
Livermore, CA
Posts: 251
Liked 40 Times on 34 Posts


Check the circuit breaker, upgrading the outlet wont make it a 20a service.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:16 AM   #3
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


The receptacle is 15A. It's rated to protect a 20A load on its load terminals. However, that rating is dependent on the wire and circuit breaker size of the branch circuit it's installed in.
__________________
On Tap:
LeftOvers Amber
Rearranger IPA - Chinook, Simcoe, Cascade
Ponchy Pale Ale - Millennium and Willamette
NippleRub Ultra (Light Lager w/Mexican Lager yeast)

In the Chamber:
Nothing

Next Up:
A Light Lager

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,337
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


It is a 15A GFCI outlet.

Here is a 20A GFI oulet:


 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 05:41 PM   #5
jesserizzo
Recipes 
 
Jun 2012
Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 87
Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post
The receptacle is 15A. It's rated to protect a 20A load on its load terminals. However, that rating is dependent on the wire and circuit breaker size of the branch circuit it's installed in.
Thanks. That's weird. If the rest of the branch circuit is good for 20A, why would it be safe and/or desirable to install a 15A outlet?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 08:39 PM   #6
whoaru99
Recipes 
 
Oct 2012
Posts: 1,748
Liked 139 Times on 116 Posts


It is perfectly acceptable by NEC to install 15A receptacles on 20A breaker as long as there is more than one outlet. A duplex, like in your picture, counts as two so just one of those (or more) is, again, perfectly acceptable by Code to be on a 20A breaker.

Desirable, well, dunno about that but often somewhat less expensive and the overwhelming majority of cord connected loads in a residential environment don't have a cord or the power draw that requires the 20A-style outlet. So, in most cases there is little point to install 20A receptacles in a home yet with the 20A circuit you have 33% more load capacity than if it was a 15A circuit.
__________________
Drinking: American Amber Ale
Lagering: Dark Lager
Primary: Maibock

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 03:02 PM   #7
nab911
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 238
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


Rather than create a new thread, Ill just post this here as it is directly related.

My apartment has 2 of these exact outlets in the kitchen and the breakers are both 20A. This is my only brewing option for the next 1/2 year so is there any problem with using a "15A" plug on a 10/3 cable going to this outlet for a 2000W element?

Example plug: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Pass-Seym...202039721-_-N#

thanks in advance!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 08:55 PM   #8
sonex
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
dillsburg, pa
Posts: 391
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts


If your asking if its ok to use a 15A plug in a 20A GFI then yes, As long as your wire from the plug is 12 gauge.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 08:58 PM   #9
nab911
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 238
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts


I was asking if I could use a 15A plug with a 20A draw on a 15A GFI outlet on a 20A circuit... lol. The common use of 15A GFI outlets on 20A circuits is the case here.

Either way, I have decided to not risk it and I asked the maintenance if they would swap out the sockets and if they don't, ill sack up and replace them myself and just swap em back when I move out.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:21 PM   #10
sonex
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
dillsburg, pa
Posts: 391
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts


Then no, the GFI would trip.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chugger pump with a switched outlet and constant outlet Rivenin Brew Stands 1 05-19-2012 05:06 AM
Getting 240VAC outlet in kitchen .. oven outlet? jdonagher Electric Brewing 12 01-30-2012 02:57 AM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
GFI outlet question kappclark Brew Stands 17 08-30-2010 12:32 AM
GFI outlet vs breaker bkloos Brew Stands 3 06-27-2010 02:16 PM


Forum Jump