Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Grain making it to the boil

Old 07-24-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
bennie1986
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Grain making it to the boil

How much grain is unacceptable in the boil kettle. I noticed that my last few brews have had bits of grain that have escaped the mash tun even after a half gallon vorlof. Should I be worried, is there anything I can do to stops this? I would say it about half a cup worth more or less.

Old 07-24-2013, 04:18 PM   #2
Mozart
Recipes 

Liked 75 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 14

I'm no expert, but I don't think that much grain in the fermenter is going to make that much difference.

I don't know what kind of fermentation vessel you use, but I line my bucket with a 24 x 24 nylon mesh bag prior to pouring in the wort. Then I just lift the bag out and remove any of the grain or hop material along with it.

Not sure how well this would work if your fermentation vessel is a carboy.

Fermenter #1 (6.5g): Empty
Fermenter #2 (6.5g): Biermuncher's Cream of Three Crops
Fermenter #3 & #4 (1.0g): Empty

Old 07-24-2013, 05:52 PM   #3
bennie1986
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozart
I'm no expert, but I don't think that much grain in the fermenter is going to make that much difference.

I don't know what kind of fermentation vessel you use, but I line my bucket with a 24 x 24 nylon mesh bag prior to pouring in the wort. Then I just lift the bag out and remove any of the grain or hop material along with it.

Not sure how well this would work if your fermentation vessel is a carboy.
Ya it's a Carboy but I'm Mostly worried about off flavors from boiling grains.

Old 07-24-2013, 05:55 PM   #4
LovesIPA
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 203 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 140