Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Breaker always tripping
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2013, 06:56 PM   #1
Jazzeux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 26
Likes Given: 1

Default Breaker always tripping

I'm building a e-Herms and when I plug my pannel, it always trips. I tried to unplug everything from the blocks inside the pannel. So the breaker is working fine. As soon I a plug back a single PID or a "120v to 12v transformer", the breaker is tripping.

I started using P-J's wiring diagram that I adapted to my equipment. I'm using my 50A GFCI spa breaker pannel. I put an RV 50a plug after that pannel, so I can unplug my spa and plug my e-Herms. My spa is working fine, so I'm sure the problem is in my herms pannel.

I also tried to plug a 120v wire to the line 1 and neutral before plugging it into the spa pannel and everything was working fine!!

Here is my mod of P-J's wiring diagram:


Click image for larger version

Name:	Wiring 6.jpg
Views:	507
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	136087  
Jazzeux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 01:32 AM   #2
Abhitchc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 41
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I had a similar thing happen to me. After triple and quadruple checking my wires and connections, I realized I had a short that was throwing the breaker. I bet you do too, based on what you are describing.


Abhitchc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:04 AM   #3
mrwizard0
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Enid, OK
Posts: 460
Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

If you disconnect the wires from the terminal blocks one at a time you can find out which wire is causing the breaker to trip and then trace that to the problem. Also, post a pic of the inside of your panel and someone might be able to see the error.
mrwizard0 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:47 AM   #4
Jazzeux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 26
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwizard0 View Post
If you disconnect the wires from the terminal blocks one at a time you can find out which wire is causing the breaker to trip and then trace that to the problem. Also, post a pic of the inside of your panel and someone might be able to see the error.
I did that, but everytime I try to connect something using only 120v, the breaker trips. I think I will look inside the spa gfci box. I know it's a 4 wires install in and out. I will post the inside of that box tomorow.

Here are 2 pictures of the inside, but almost everything is disconnected from the distribution block since I tried the steps above.
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-07-19_150053.jpg
Views:	376
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	136192   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-07-19_150108.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	136193  
Jazzeux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 04:15 AM   #5
rhoop
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 156
Liked 15 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Did you run all the neutrals back to the breaker? If not, the breaker will trip right away. If your tripping right away while trying to use 120V, I'd guess you one or more neutrals not going back through the breaker...
rhoop is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:39 PM   #6
Jazzeux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 26
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhoop View Post
Did you run all the neutrals back to the breaker? If not, the breaker will trip right away. If your tripping right away while trying to use 120V, I'd guess you one or more neutrals not going back through the breaker...
I think every neutral are back to the breaker, but I'm not sure to understand you.

I'm posting pics of inside my electric pannel and my spa pannel so it will be more clear.
Click image for larger version

Name:	img_20130720_141247.jpg
Views:	349
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	136268   Click image for larger version

Name:	img_20130720_142214.jpg
Views:	701
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	136269  
Jazzeux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 02:04 AM   #7
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 916
Liked 96 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 133

Default

Can't quite tell from the spa panel photo but the circuit neutral must be attached to the GFCI breaker, NOT the neutral buss bar. The gfci neutral pigtail must carry all the neutral current to the neutral buss bar.
__________________
On Tap:
Second Amendment Amber
Rearranger IPA
Ponchy Pale Ale - Falconer's Flight
NippleRub Ultra (Light Lager w/Mexican Lager yeast)

In the Chamber:
Empty - IT'S TOO HOT TO BREW

Next Up:
I SAID, IT'S TOO HOT TO BREW
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 03:58 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raouliii View Post
Can't quite tell from the spa panel photo but the circuit neutral must be attached to the GFCI breaker, NOT the neutral buss bar. The gfci neutral pigtail must carry all the neutral current to the neutral buss bar.
I totally agree.

Your SPA panel neutral connecton for the load is not wired to the break output. What make/model # is your spa panel. I'm not familiar with it and it appears to be only a 240V output unit. (Unless there is another neutral terminal on the braker.)


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 08:08 PM   #9
Jazzeux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 26
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
I totally agree.

Your SPA panel neutral connecton for the load is not wired to the break output. What make/model # is your spa panel. I'm not familiar with it and it appears to be only a 240V output unit. (Unless there is another neutral terminal on the braker.)
It's a square d model# CQOE250GFINM from Home Depot (in Canada). Here's the Home Depot Page .
I dug a bit and found that the is a QO250GFI in a non metallic case. So here is the QO250GFI data sheet.

There's no more place for a neutral connection on the breaker. Do you think that's why I can't put 120v in my pannel?
Jazzeux is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:42 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzeux View Post
It's a square d model# CQOE250GFINM from Home Depot (in Canada). Here's the Home Depot Page .
I dug a bit and found that the is a QO250GFI in a non metallic case. So here is the QO250GFI data sheet.

There's no more place for a neutral connection on the breaker. Do you think that's why I can't put 120v in my pannel?
That particular GFCI breaker does not have a neutral output even though they say it is 120/240V.

This is the one available in the US:
GE 50A 240V Spa Panel GFCI
This one does have a neutral output.

Perhaps you might be able to order it and have it shipped to you?


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp GFI keeps tripping. funkdaddydowd Electric Brewing 9 07-22-2013 06:54 PM
Help: Breaker Tripping riverbeer Electric Brewing 3 07-08-2013 12:37 AM
GFCI keeps tripping kerklein2 Kegerators and Keezers 7 05-04-2013 05:10 PM
My Circuit Breaker Keeps Tripping: Why? TheAleMaster Equipment/Sanitation 56 04-08-2010 08:51 PM
Chest freezer keeps tripping breaker... Coastarine Bottling/Kegging 40 10-03-2008 05:54 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS