Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > BIAB Partial or full

Old 07-10-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
NewWestBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 55 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 133

Default BIAB Partial or full

Hi All,

I am just getting into BIAB and am wondering what people's viewpoints are on doing partial boils (DeathBrewer's thread) or full boils. I only have a 5 gal pot so I am limited in amount of grain but if a recipe can fit in the pot is it preferable to do full boil? I should mention that I do 3 gal batches.

Colin

Old 07-10-2013, 07:59 PM   #2
mb82
Recipes 

Liked 65 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 32

I have a 6 gal pot and do full boils of 3.25 gal batches. When I have 90 minute boils I do need to keep and eye out for boilovers but it can be done. Personally I like the batch size as it keeps me brewing more often and with different kinds of beer.

Primary: Trekker Huis ( Tractor House) Saison
Bottled: Huis Koyt, Summer In Sommelsdijk
Up coming beers: Home Hops 15 Cluster Bomb IPA

Old 07-10-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
SteveLikesBeer
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 33

I follow http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f36/simp...method-146872/ and it worked quite well for me so far.

Primary: SMaSH Pale, Anger Management (Flanders Red)
Bottled: Chin Hook, Dubbel's Advocate, FATAB, Saison, Penny the Welder
Keg: D3, Amber

Old 07-10-2013, 08:55 PM   #4
Dovage
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 10

I'm with mb82, do 3 gallon batches with full boil, you can get better eff. and can do more batches. I had been trying to do 5 gal., with 2, 5 gal. pots, but it was a pain. Plus I had to keep buying bottles for all the beer. I am now shrinking down to 3 gal. batches, to try and really make great beer, not just beer, which is where I was.
Bottled- Handy Men IPA
Residual Boulder Brown Ale

Old 07-10-2013, 09:10 PM   #5
sumone
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 5