RIMS setup question. - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > RIMS setup question.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2013, 08:45 PM   #11
grupe
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


One other thing, you need a pt100 sensor like this one: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=189

K type sensors aren't water tight from what I have seen
__________________
-Graham

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:48 PM   #12
Rys06Tbss
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts


The ta6 is bigger. I bought a ta4 which is 1/16 din. It does have SSR output. I bought it on amazon. The SSR I bought was a 40 amp. Just in case I decided to run 220 and switch to all electric. I bout a pt100 probe as well, got everything for less then 50. Should be here tomorrow. Now all I need to do is finish building my project box, and build a rims tube. Are you running 1 1/2 in or 2 in.im going to use a 1500 watt element. Also I was thinking about building the tube out of copper instead of stainless but it looks like copper is going to be a lot more.
__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:46 AM   #13
Rys06Tbss
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts


I finally set up my box.I dont have the RIMS tube yet. Heres the box. I still need to add circuit breakers for the PID and heater. I also want to add a few more switches for so I can turn the PID on or off. I also want to add a few lights so I can see whats going on in terms of the heater element and box power and what not.





__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 07:34 PM   #14
audger
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 43 Times on 42 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by grupe View Post
140734649531 is the eBay item number. Get 25 amp SSRs
looks like the OP has already made the purchase, but 40A ssrs will run cooler and are close, or sometimes identical, in price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grupe View Post
K type sensors aren't water tight from what I have seen
you just need any type of sensor (k, J, RTD) that is already mounted in a stainless steel thermowell, not just the bare sensor. the housing has nothing to do with the sensor type. however RTDs are nice as they dont drift over time like thermocouples tend to do.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 12:49 AM   #15
Rys06Tbss
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts


This sensor is sealed and watertight. The 40 amp SSR was bought at the same time. This PID was actually really easy to setup. Maybe they changed the instructions? Anyhow. I want to make my RTD detachable. Is there any reason I can't make it longer and re calibrate it? Also. I was thinking about using an RJ45 jack for it, since it has 5 or 6 pins. That would work right?
__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:42 AM   #16
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Fenton, MO
Posts: 972
Liked 38 Times on 37 Posts


It's easy to extend and put a qd on. No need to recalibrate either. I snip the RTD wire about 6-8" from the PID end and connect it to an XLR panel mount. Then connect the complimentary XLR connector on the RTD wire.
__________________
My RIMS eBrewery build

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New RIMS setup phreaky Brew Stands 25 07-22-2014 12:32 AM
Question about the need for RIMS in an eBIAB setup CS223 Electric Brewing 0 03-16-2012 03:16 PM
RIMS Setup Help TravelingBrewer22 Electric Brewing 8 10-18-2011 04:24 PM
New RIMS Setup djsethall All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 0 02-26-2011 03:31 AM
Thoughts on this RIMS setup? HarvInSTL Equipment/Sanitation 4 02-18-2008 04:12 AM


Forum Jump