Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > RIMS setup question.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2013, 05:48 PM   #1
Rys06Tbss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default RIMS setup question.

I finally broke down and bought a chugger pump after my china pump fell off my chair and broke. I'm going to have a friend build me a single tier brew stand in the next couple weeks here. I'm debating on putting 2 propane burners on this stand or just sticking with one. I have 2 separate burners right now and direct fire my mash tun keggle.

Here's my question. If I was to use a 1500 watt RIMS tube, would that be hot enough to heat strike water and maybe sparge water with 120v. i really dint want to run 220 in my garage just yet. I think I'm going to want to recirculate my mash as well so my temps stay constant. I think I want to get always from using multiple burners.


__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery
Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:33 AM   #2
grupe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

How big of batches are you running?


__________________
-Graham
grupe is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:02 AM   #3
Rys06Tbss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Oh yeah that might help. In plan on doing just five gallon batch's. Maybe 10 but I do plan on doing a RIS sometime soon which will provalky have the same size grain bill as a 10 gallon batch
__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery
Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:15 AM   #4
grupe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Our herms system has 5500 watt elements for 15 gallons. So that is 366 watts per gallon. I have seen systems with 600 watts per gallon. So for 10 gallons, I would run at least 2 1500 watt elements. You will need to power them off seperate circuits but it will work
__________________
-Graham
grupe is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:17 AM   #5
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,348
Liked 1303 Times on 870 Posts
Likes Given: 609

Default

1500W is really not enough to manage strike/sparge water for 5 gallons. If your insulation is good enough, you'll get there eventually, but it'll take hours.
__________________
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin
MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 02:23 AM   #6
Rys06Tbss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

So I basically need to direct fire still and use the tube for keeping temps
__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery
Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 02:38 AM   #7
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,348
Liked 1303 Times on 870 Posts
Likes Given: 609

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rys06Tbss View Post
So I basically need to direct fire still and use the tube for keeping temps
1500W will do that well.
__________________
"Be excellent to each other." -Benjamin Franklin
MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 01:39 AM   #8
Rys06Tbss
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yorkville, Illinois
Posts: 380
Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Ok cool. My next question is what pid. I don't want to drop the loot on an auber just yet so I was thinking of getting a MYPIN. I'm not sure if I want a TA4 or TA6. What's the difference. Also I found a tA6 on eBay for 39 shipped with SSR and probe, but the probe looks to be really short. Could I use a longer probe? It's a K Type what ever that means.
__________________
My blog. All things Ryan

DeathBase Brewery
Rys06Tbss is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:39 PM   #9
grupe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Any of them on eBay will work but make sure you get on the has ssr output and will do F and C. I would get the probes from aburn. I haven't had good luck with Chinese probes. The ta4 is bigger. I like the 1/16 din ones.
__________________
-Graham
grupe is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:40 PM   #10
grupe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 77
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

140734649531 is the eBay item number. Get 25 amp SSRs


__________________
-Graham
grupe is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New RIMS setup phreaky Brew Stands 25 07-22-2014 12:32 AM
Question about the need for RIMS in an eBIAB setup CS223 Electric Brewing 0 03-16-2012 03:16 PM
RIMS Setup Help TravelingBrewer22 Electric Brewing 8 10-18-2011 04:24 PM
New RIMS Setup djsethall All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 0 02-26-2011 03:31 AM
Thoughts on this RIMS setup? HarvInSTL Equipment/Sanitation 4 02-18-2008 04:12 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS