BJCP Judges - Did you have to "learn" how to differentiate the flavors / aromas?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

itsme_timd

Reaction score
When sampling my beers I'll get what I think is one flavor but then when I read some more I see that it could actually be something else. Like I may think I'm getting citrus notes from my hops but then read about astringency and not sure I can differentiate the two. Citrus - slightly sour and puckery. Astringency - slightly sour and puckery. :confused:

Are my taste buds just not as refined or are these differences something you learn with time and practice?

I am still learning. One thing that is helpful is to look at the "Commercial Calibration" section of Zymurgy. Try to find a beer the 'experts' are judging and see what you come up with.

Learn. If you read in a book that diacetyl tastes like butter and that it smells like a movie theater lobby you would probably be able to identify diacetyl in a beer in a certain concentration range. That's because you have tasted and smelled it before. In movie theater popcorn. You might not recognize it at very low levels where it has a more caramel -like impression and is often sensed as a slick sensation on the tongue. To learn about that you would have to have it pointed out to you by a more experienced judge. But be carefull. I have had guys yell about the diacetyl level in a beer only to find that it reeked of acetaldehyde.