Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Dry hops. Does this look right?

Old 06-12-2013, 02:53 PM   #1
HokieHomeBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default Dry hops. Does this look right?

So I dry hopped for the first time....my LHBS recommended 2 oz ofwhole leaf (which I've never used before) and when I asked about bagging with a weight he said, "Nah if you're using a bucket just toss them in." So that's what I did. I let it sit for 7 days and opened my bucket and saw this....I didn't expect them to "sink" but I had expected more absorption. Does this look typical or should I have gone the bag route? Cheers.

Old 06-12-2013, 03:07 PM   #2
Heavywalker
Recipes 

Liked 79 Times on 49 Posts
Likes Given: 8

I would think the hops would need to be in contact with the beer for the oils to be extracted, maybe the hops on the top did not do anything for your brew???

Old 06-12-2013, 03:12 PM   #3
HokieHomeBrewer
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavywalker View Post
I would think the hops would need to be in contact with the beer for the oils to be extracted, maybe the hops on the top did not do anything for your brew???

That's what I was thinking. I picked up a few from the top and they were semi-damp but who knows. I'm not that worried, it tastes fine and at works I guess I wasted an ounce of hops?

I'm more concerned about getting the technique down correctly so I can do it better next time.

Old 06-12-2013, 03:19 PM   #4
ICWiener
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 108 Times on 94 Posts
Likes Given: 18

A lot of people bag them and weigh down the bag with a sanitized stainless steel ball bearing or marble. It's a good way to make sure all of your hops get down in the beer.

Old 06-12-2013, 03:23 PM   #5
stpug
Recipes 

Liked 512 Times on 437 Posts
Likes Given: 295