Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Mead Forum > Racking mead to a bigger carboy
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2007, 12:32 AM   #1
turkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default Racking mead to a bigger carboy

Hey all,

My mead is just about ready to be racked for the first time. My mead is in a thee gallon carboy and I have an empty 5 gallon carboy that can be used. My brew shop is currently out of 3 gallon carboys and they have no eta on when they'll be getting a new shipment. Would it be a bad thing to rack ~3 gallons of mead into a 5 gallon carboy?


turkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:35 AM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 65,109
Liked 5926 Times on 4226 Posts
Likes Given: 1514

Default

You don't want to do that. If it's in secondary, very little fermentation is taking place and you shouldn't have headspace in secondary. You could just wait to get a 3 gallon carboy, or you could very carefully without splashing rack into the larger carboy, clean the 3 gallon, sanitize it and rack it back without disturbing it much. I would only do that if it desperately needed to be racked with very thick gross lees. Otherwise, I would just wait until I had the right size carboy.


__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:39 AM   #3
turkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll hold off on that. Another question: Would doing 3 gallons of primary fermentation in a 5 gallon carboy also be a bad thing?
turkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:46 AM   #4
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UP of Michigan
Posts: 65,109
Liked 5926 Times on 4226 Posts
Likes Given: 1514

Default

No, that's ok. Mead really needs oxygen during primary and it'll use up the oxygen in there and release co2 to displace any remaining oxygen. I primary in 7.5 gallon buckets all the time.

My mead experience is pretty limited, though- I prefer wine and beer. Still, the same principals apply. There are quite a few more mead lovers around here that can give you more expert advice.
__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Follow me on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:50 AM   #5
turkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Cool, thanks for your help!


turkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Racking Mead too soon? sourcecraft Mead Forum 3 07-20-2009 02:47 AM
Mead first racking help please! pingi Mead Forum 6 12-21-2008 04:23 AM
racking mead and cider? Steiner Cider Forum 4 03-01-2008 09:56 AM
Racking to CARBOY Ales4Ever Cider Forum 3 11-17-2007 02:31 AM
6.5 Gallon Carboy Actually Bigger! efreem01 Equipment/Sanitation 3 07-31-2007 02:35 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads