Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Added brett b to secondary fermentation and got no fermentation

Old 06-04-2013, 05:34 PM   #1
Buck0185
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Added brett b to secondary fermentation and got no fermentation

Started a Saison with wyeast Belgian Saison yeast 3724 let ferment for three weeks starting @ 70 degrees incrementally raising the temp to 95 the fermentation got stuck at 1.030 which is typical for this yeast strand which is also why I kept bumping up the temp. Wanted the gravity a bit lower before I added to secondary with Brett b but it seemed it wouldn't drop any further. It's been in secondary for three weeks and the gravity has not budged with the Brett . This is my first time attempting to use Brett I was under the impression that Brett ate all sorts of sugars so I'm wondering why it has t started fermenting was my mash flawed to begin with?

Old 06-04-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
lpdjshaw
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 9

To really get all the Brett characteristics you'll probably want to wait 4-6 months. I'm sure it'll finish the ferment by then too. I did the same as you but the primary didn't stall, I secondaried with Brett and some Chardonnay soaked oak chips for 6 months then bottled - tastiest beer I've ever done!
Oh, and 95 seems pretty hot, I'd drop it to 68-70. I ramped my primary slowely up to 86 then let it sit at ambient temp for the secondary.

Old 06-04-2013, 06:32 PM   #3
Buck0185
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpdjshaw
To really get all the Brett characteristics you'll probably want to wait 4-6 months. I'm sure it'll finish the ferment by then too. I did the same as you but the primary didn't stall, I secondaried with Brett and some Chardonnay soaked oak chips for 6 months then bottled - tastiest beer I've ever done!