Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > hard cider my first brew some help please

Old 10-12-2007, 03:07 PM   #1
disschord
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default hard cider my first brew some help please

Hi im trying to make some hard cider with apples from my garden.
I have just finished pressing the Apples i have 8 litres of juice.
i'm told by a freind there is no need to add sugar or yeast as there is natural yeast on the skin of the Apple, and sugar in the fruit is this true.
also my juice is in a sealable bucket should i seal it or leave it loose.

Any other help qould be great im a complete noobie.

Old 10-12-2007, 03:09 PM   #2
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 4

You can use the wild yeasts but for myself I think I'd rather use a yeast I know will end up making a tasty product. In that light I would add a crushed campden tablet for 24 hours to kill the wild yeast, then pitch a simple ale or wine yeast. You will want to leave the lid on your bucket, but don't actually seal it, otherwise you'll blow the lid off the top.

You don't need to add sugar unless you want to. The sugar in the apples is what the yeast will eat, however adding some sugar will add flavour (depending on the type) and will up the alcohol content.

Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station

Old 10-12-2007, 03:21 PM   #3
Evan!

Recipes 

Liked 80 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 1

You have options.

First off, you probably don't need to add sugar; my first cider is fermenting right now, and it had an OG of 1.059 without any sugar added.