Sore Throat from drinking Kombucha? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Kombucha & Fermented Tea Forum > Sore Throat from drinking Kombucha?

Old 05-20-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
Crys
Recipes 

May 2013

I just started brewing. Just finished my 2nd batch ever. First batch I brewed for ten days and it was a bit sweet, but tasty, although no carbonation even after a second ferment with some ginger for flavor. Second batch I waited 2 weeks and it is much better with fizz too.

But... i seem to be getting sore throats from drinking it. I had never tried kombucha before so not sure how i react to it. I have read a lot about the yeast die-off effect in the body so I assume this could be it?? I just know that i love the taste but it gives me a sore throat about 3-5 hours after having 2-4 oz of the drink. It also seemed to make me very tired. My husband also reports a mildly sore throat but he also swears it has fixed his sinusitis.

I just want to be sure Im not poisoning us! I keep thinking maybe we are getting sore throats from bad pathogens in there or something... but there was no sign of mold... just the brown slime that I hear is normal. I even have a swollen gland in the right side of my throat, so that is strange, right?

Old 06-27-2013, 04:02 AM   #2
Bluespark
Recipes 

Nov 2012
Liked 27 Times on 21 Posts

I wonder if this is not a cleansing reaction? I have heard of kombucha causing that in some people...

Old 06-27-2013, 02:43 PM   #3
jmf143
Recipes 

May 2010
Wixom, Michigan
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crys View Post
I just started brewing. Just finished my 2nd batch ever. First batch I brewed for ten days and it was a bit sweet, but tasty, although no carbonation even after a second ferment with some ginger for flavor. Second batch I waited 2 weeks and it is much better with fizz too.