Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Need Help With Brutus 10 Gas System conversion
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2013, 01:56 AM   #1
DogRiverBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default Need Help With Brutus 10 Gas System conversion

I bought a Brutus 10 system thru Craig's list. Guy had built his brew system using Natural gas jet burners. I only have access to either "house" propane, which I believe from my research is 11" WC (low pressure), or of course, bottled propane.
The rack has 120v solenoid valves like these:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-2-Brass-El...21062388183%26
These should operate at 0 to 125psi, and are controled by Love controllers.
The regulator that is installed is a Maxitol RV48L like this:
http://www.pexsupply.com/Maxitrol-RV...-Breather-Hole
This seems to be usable with propane. ?
The burners that are installed are natural gas 23 tip jet burners. These would have to be converted to propane jets, (too expensive at around $3.50 per jet), or possible replaced with something like the BG-14 (banjo burners) for propane.
The stand has, what I think are called "standing" pilots, which are plumbed directly into the gas chamber.
Apparently, from the research I've done so far, it seems that it will be simpler to go with low pressure propane for the automation.
My questions to the gas experts here is what would be the simplest and or best way to convert this stand to propane and maintain automation with the love controllers? What must be and what should be replaced, and with what? How hard and expensive would it be to use high pressure propane and automation?
Thanks in advance for your help. I will try to add some pictures of the stand.


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130509_171126_853.jpg
Views:	807
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	121147   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130509_171112_378.jpg
Views:	684
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	121148   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130509_170903_284.jpg
Views:	606
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	121149   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130509_171007_709.jpg
Views:	622
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	121150  
DogRiverBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:53 AM   #2
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 13,439
Liked 1836 Times on 1447 Posts

Default

That regulator is set up to deliver the propane equivalent of household natural gas pressure at - and fairly high volume - to the solenoid valves - which are good down to 0 psi. And I wager every one of those 69 jets are sized for low pressure as well.

The only thing you should change is the hose feeding the regulator. Whatever that hose that's in the foreground is, it doesn't look like a high pressure hose. I suspect the easiest way to go would be to get a two-stage low pressure propane regulator to screw into a large tank, remove the existing regulator, and run a 1/2" hose from the two-stage reg to your gas beam...

Cheers!


day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 01:17 PM   #3
DogRiverBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

The hose is a "gastight" 3/4" hose.
I was under the impression that natural gas jet's holes on these burners were even larger than the jets used for low pressure propane. ??
Could I hook up this 3/4" flexible gas hose to my "house" propane and get enough gas volume to power the burners, and if so, would I need to remove and or change the Maxitrol regulator?
Thanks for your help. No amount of digging around on line and reading about something like this compares to communicating with someone who knows about this stuff!!
DogRiverBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:13 PM   #4
brewzur
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 32
Likes Given: 1

Default

Pm sent
brewzur is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:11 PM   #5
DogRiverBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

According to other sources, the holes in these 69 jets will be too large for propane. Are there any other suggestions.
DogRiverBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:46 PM   #6
DogRiverBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I bought a two stage Benzomatic regulator with POL connection from Lowes today and rigged it to the propane tank then hooked that to the 20' of gastite piping. Removed the old regulator from the brew stand. I didn't get near enough gas flow to brew with. I could get one burner to put out about a 1 to 1 1/2" inch pitiful flame OR the three pilot lights. When the solenoid opened on another burner, they all went out. Why is the flow/pressure so pathetic? The regulator is supposed to support up to 200,000 btu per hour. I would think the 3/4" gastite line wouldn't cause enough restriction to create a problem. What am I missing here?
DogRiverBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:48 AM   #7
tophmck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 191
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

With that much line, is it possible you triggered the regulator's flow limiting device?
tophmck is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:11 PM   #8
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 13,439
Liked 1836 Times on 1447 Posts

Default

I don't think POL style propane regulators have the excess flow safety valve found in ACME nut style regulators...

Cheers!
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:42 PM   #9
tophmck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 191
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Is this the regulator? If so, the instructions say:

Quote:
The two-stage regulator is also equipped with an excess flow device that will restrict gas flow in the event of a sudden increase in flow demand due to hose rupture or accidental disconnection while the regulator is in use.
tophmck is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:35 PM   #10
DogRiverBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

That's the regulator. I stopped in my local Ace hardware on my way home today and found a 2 ft. long 1/2" ID gas flex hose and fittings including another 3/4" ball valve. I'm go'na try hooking up this piping to an old propane tank I have that doesn't have the 3 leaf clover valve handle which indicates that it doesn't have the late model "float" type safety flow gismo inside. I'll turn the gas on real slow and see if I can get some decent flow rate. If this doesn't work, I'll have to try a different regulator.


DogRiverBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Brutus System is Born schweaty Brew Stands 75 02-13-2013 11:22 PM
For Sale - WTB - Brutus 10 System brewshopmike For Sale 1 04-05-2011 06:51 PM
Mashing with a Brutus 10 system steveming All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 2 11-19-2010 02:26 PM
Brutus 10 type system help JSomps6 Equipment/Sanitation 9 08-25-2009 06:58 PM
Brutus Ten gas system pluto Brew Stands 8 03-08-2008 03:41 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS