Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Can I use ANY LME for brewing?
Old 05-07-2013, 06:44 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Can I use ANY LME for brewing?

Hi there. I'm new to home brewing. I'd like to know if I can use ANY LME for brewing and adding hops myself, vs using Coopers for example? I live in Peterborough, Ontario and can't seem to find any suppliers here. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated

Old 05-07-2013, 06:58 PM   #2
Liked 28 Times on 24 Posts

I'm at the same stage; tired of spending big $ for LME only to get thin body beer. Thinking of getting a growler of LME, doing own hops, adding some grain wort too. (I screwed up my first mash; LHBS gave me wrong malt)
Careful, as some LMEs suffer in flavor if boiled: Munton's is one. I'm experimenting on doing a hop boil in water and adding unboiled syrup to cooled soln. I'd advise you to try at least partial mash batches ASAP.
I looked your town up on map. You're close to some malt suppliers, no? There's one in NY state.
Seems as soon as I left Wis. home brewing took off. Lots of suppliers in Ohio, Wi. area.
PS: Get John Palmer's book, it's excellent! 1/2 price on Amazon.
Good luck.

Old 05-07-2013, 08:42 PM   #3
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Any extract liquid or dry can be prone to caramelization during extended boil period. Search about late extract addition. I typically withhold about 70% of my extract until after the last 15 minutes. You do however want to get your LME from a high volume supplier for freshness reasons. It makes a difference in the final product and for this reason I tend to build recipes based on DME. In the cases I use LME I will by from a volume online source such as Northern Brewer.