BCS Temp probe to Cat5e Help - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > BCS Temp probe to Cat5e Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2013, 02:13 AM   #1
kaz4121
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
USA
Posts: 495
Liked 52 Times on 38 Posts



I bought several of these bad boys for my BCS-462 control panel build:

http://www.brewershardware.com/4-Tem...r-BCS-460.html

From ebrewsupply.com, I got the idea to tie these into a Cat5e plug to ultimately run to my BCS (see http://www.ebrewsupply.com/controlle...-4in-temp.html). I didn't want to run the temp probes directly to my BCS since I was afraid they would get ripped out.

How exactly do I do this?

The temp probes are 22 gauge (2 wires only I think), but how do I connect to a Cat5e? Do I just need the end crimps? Or do I need to splice to an ethernet cord? Also how would I then connect the female Cat5e receptacle to the BCS?

Sorry for the noob questions. Please help!


__________________
THIRD LEAP BREWING & BLENDING
A New England farmhouse homebrewery founded with foraged yeast
thirdleapbrew.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:26 AM   #2
bullywee
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Greensboro NC
Posts: 189


just connect the probes to the BCS as they, works great!



 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 04:51 PM   #3
kaz4121
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
USA
Posts: 495
Liked 52 Times on 38 Posts


I know I can connect directly, I was trying to avoid this in case there was too much tension on the wire. I'd like to avoid a direct connect.

Any other suggestions?
__________________
THIRD LEAP BREWING & BLENDING
A New England farmhouse homebrewery founded with foraged yeast
thirdleapbrew.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 08:38 PM   #4
luhrks
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 340
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


Easy peasy.

1. Get cat 5 ends and a crimper.
2. Insert the temp probe leads into any pair in the end (I use 4 and 5).
3. Crimp.

For the jack, just wire the same pair and connect one lead to your out, and one to the ground.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130505_133818.jpg
Views:	398
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	120162

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 03:15 AM   #5
kaz4121
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
USA
Posts: 495
Liked 52 Times on 38 Posts


@luhrks

I have these cat5e ends:http://www.ebrewsupply.com/more/xlr-...-crimp-on.html

And these cat5e receptacles: http://www.ebrewsupply.com/more/xlr-...connector.html

Couple of other questions:

1. How do I know which spots in the end correspond to the correct spots in the receptacle?
2. The numbers on the receptacle correspond to the appropriate spot right?
3. Do the receptacles need any other wiring besides the above?
4. Do I wire one of the wires to the corresponding temp in and one to the ground of the BCS?

Thanks for the help, I'm still learning obviously.
__________________
THIRD LEAP BREWING & BLENDING
A New England farmhouse homebrewery founded with foraged yeast
thirdleapbrew.com

Berk Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:05 AM   #6
luhrks
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 340
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


Use slots 1 and 8 and you don't have to count.

The jack will be marked for 1 and 8 as well.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 01:05 AM   #7
garbageman
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Lexington, SC
Posts: 148
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts


Yes, use one and 8.

This is on the bottom of my ebrewsupply panel.

Outside, Bottom



Inside
__________________
My Electric Brewery Picasa Web Albums
Ratebeer profile: Ratebeer.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:54 AM   #8
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 2,009
Liked 246 Times on 153 Posts


I run 4 probes on my rig in a single CAT-5 cable. Ensure that you put a jumper wire at the BCS from the BCS ground to the AC ground. If you don't, you'll see fluctuations amplified in your temperatures (they'll bounce up & down).
__________________
Surf City Brewing (TM)

My Single Tier, 3 Pump, BCS-462, Brutus Build:..... [LINK]
My customized BCS-462 controller web interface:.. [LINK]
My 8 tap, 11 keg, upright Keezer build:.................... [LINK]

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 02:27 PM   #9
kaz4121
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
USA
Posts: 495
Liked 52 Times on 38 Posts


Where did you get your wire? I need to buy extra to run longer lengths and can't find it anywhere. Mine is 22 gauge with two conductors.
__________________
THIRD LEAP BREWING & BLENDING
A New England farmhouse homebrewery founded with foraged yeast
thirdleapbrew.com

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:07 AM   #10
luhrks
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Posts: 340
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts


Um. Get cat5 cable, cut ends off and take what you need.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp differential between Mash probe and recirc probe Patirck All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 3 03-21-2012 04:43 PM
Temp Probe options for ebay Temp Controller Crimsonwine Fermenters 8 12-22-2011 12:08 PM
RTD Temp Probe - Off by >15 deg.??? KEG99 Electric Brewing 10 11-13-2011 04:44 PM
BCS temp probe bullywee Electric Brewing 2 02-23-2011 03:34 PM
Discrepancy between probe temp and thermometer temp... Burgs Bottling/Kegging 2 06-24-2010 11:20 AM


Forum Jump