50amp GFI keeps tripping. - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 50amp GFI keeps tripping.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2013, 02:00 AM   #1
funkdaddydowd
Recipes 
 
May 2011
Rochester, NY
Posts: 1


I just bought a BIAB Electric set up from High Gravity Brewing
http://www.highgravitybrew.com/produ...m-306p3987.htm

I have installed a new 30amp breaker at my main panel, which feeds a spa 50amp GFCI disconnect. Off of the GFCI is a 4 pin receptacle that feeds the controller with a PID and a pump controller.

To test out my set up I went to turn on the PID without the heating element plugged in as soon as I do the GFCI trips.

I have tried to trouble shoot this and I can't figure it out. I wired the controller straight in to the 30amp breaker (bypassing the GFCI) and it works just fine. I had a friend help me with this who is an electrician and he is stumped as well.

Any help would be appreciated.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:17 AM   #2
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Not sure exactly how you're wired up but here's a general question. Does the GFI breaker monitor ALL current carrying conductors? 240v circuit: both hots. 120v circuit: hot AND neutral
__________________
On Tap:
LeftOvers Amber
Rearranger IPA - Chinook, Simcoe, Cascade
Ponchy Pale Ale - Millennium and Willamette
NippleRub Ultra (Light Lager w/Mexican Lager yeast)

In the Chamber:
Nothing

Next Up:
A Light Lager

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:20 AM   #3
tyzippers
 
tyzippers's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Meadville, PA
Posts: 2,358
Liked 412 Times on 307 Posts


Is the white wire from the GFCI breaker attached to the neutral bus? I know it's an obvious thing to check, but I feel it needs to be asked. Other than that, there must be a place where there is either a short to ground. With the main (30A) panel breaker OFF, use a multimeter to determine if there's a short to ground via a possible error in wiring. That's all I can think of at the moment. Also, with out actually being there to see the install and inspect the wiring, it's kind of hard to make other suggestions. Others may have better luck than I.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:38 AM   #4
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,141
Liked 209 Times on 179 Posts


Do you have 3 wires in and 4 wires out in the spa panel? If so, see P-J's photo-diagram here. http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/spa...ummies-266751/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:38 AM   #5
Spiny-Norman
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
Posts: 11
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts


Is your neutral and ground hooked together anywhere except for your primary breaker panel?

Redundant grounds are bad and cause gfci's not to work so well.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:48 AM   #6
thomashp
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Richmond, VA, Richmond, VA
Posts: 56

Have you contacted the manufacturer of that control box? It might be a known issue.

Some switching power supplies are know to trip GFCI breakers as well. I wonder what is in that control box.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 03:07 AM   #7
Spiny-Norman
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
Posts: 11
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts


Gfci is not normally used for electronic controls because of "Leakage"
I do not know what you are running off of this. but..... That may be the issue.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:11 PM   #8
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,141
Liked 209 Times on 179 Posts


If a properly-functioning spa panel is wired correctly, and you brought H-H-N-G out of it, it should work. If you only have H-H-G, that controller will not work with a GFCI. From the product page on the controller:

"Requires 220V 30A service. Includes a 6 ft power cord with either a 3-wire plug (NEMA 10-30P) or a 4-wire plug (NEMA 14-30P). GFCI type breaker cannot be used with the 3-wire installation. GFCI must use 4-wire installation with separate neutral and ground."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:41 PM   #9
owentp
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Mattawan, MI
Posts: 340
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I have the same thing and similar problem except for my PID/Thermostat comes on but whenever plug in the pump and flip the pump switch, it trips the spa panel GFCI.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:54 PM   #10
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2011
Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 1,019
Liked 118 Times on 102 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by owentp View Post
I have the same thing and similar problem except for my PID/Thermostat comes on but whenever plug in the pump and flip the pump switch, it trips the spa panel GFCI.
I would suggest you start by answering the questions posed earlier in this thread.
__________________
On Tap:
LeftOvers Amber
Rearranger IPA - Chinook, Simcoe, Cascade
Ponchy Pale Ale - Millennium and Willamette
NippleRub Ultra (Light Lager w/Mexican Lager yeast)

In the Chamber:
Nothing

Next Up:
A Light Lager

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp GFCI Spa panel safe at well below 50amps? Chello Electric Brewing 27 04-04-2013 10:53 AM
General Wiring Questions On A 240v 50amp Line jdlev Electric Brewing 43 07-20-2012 03:04 PM
50amp Plasma Cutter / Torch cripplecreek For Sale 4 07-03-2012 11:17 AM
Two 2000w on 120v 50amp Circuit? seatbelt123 Electric Brewing 13 01-10-2012 09:53 PM
Road Tripping brewmaster12 General Beer Discussion 1 12-17-2011 07:37 PM


Forum Jump