Small Control Panel Build - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Small Control Panel Build

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2013, 05:22 PM   #11
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bensiff View Post
Please don't take this as rude, but if you don't know how to wire a standard receptacle and don't know what a jockey box is, I very very very highly encourage you to do a ton of learning before endeavoring to wire a 220v 30 amp system as you are playing with levels of electricity that can easily kill.

A jockey box is a standard box used for bringing together electrical connections safely by protecting the wire connections. ...
I've been associated with the elctrical trade for more years than you have been around. I also have no clue what the "jockey box" you reference is.

Go easy. I recommend it.

theknub Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:22 PM   #12
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bensiff View Post
Please don't take this as rude, but if you don't know how to wire a standard receptacle and don't know what a jockey box is, I very very very highly encourage you to do a ton of learning before endeavoring to wire a 220v 30 amp system as you are playing with levels of electricity that can easily kill.

A jockey box is a standard box used for bringing together electrical connections safely by protecting the wire connections. If you take the plate cover off any electrical outlet in your house you will see a box behind it, that is a jockey box. Wiring a standard plug is pretty easy, the black is hot, the white neutral, and the copper the ground. On the back of a receptacle it is labeled (sometimes hard to see) white on one side and black on the other, at a corner is a green screw that is for the ground. Simply attach the wires powering the receptacle as labeled and you will be able to plug into pumps into it...but, again do your homework, know what you are doing, watch a ton of youtube videos for visuals, get a voltmeter and a digital or analogue voltage detector so you know the power is off and that you have the correct amount of power when wiring. Electricity is invisible, never guess, never assume, please be safe...ok done with my soapbox.
FWIW, I have never heard of an outlet box referred to as a jockey box, and a google search for jockey box does not show an outlet box, at least for the first few pages, before I gave up.

theknub Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:23 PM   #13
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


P-J beat me to it, lol.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:31 PM   #14
skepace
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Denver, Colorado
Posts: 315
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Ok, well I have not heard of that either. Thanks guys for chiming in.

Still my question is, how would I wire the GFCI plug which has two receptacles on it so I can run the two pumps off seperate 2-way switches?
__________________
Primary: None
Secondary: None
Kegged: "McCranky" Svotch Wee Heavy
In The Pipeline: "Fat Man" Christmas/Strong Ale; "Lulu the Shadow Dog" Chocolate Stout; "Angry Bear" Dry-Hopped Double IPA

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:48 PM   #15
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by skepace View Post
Ok, well I have not heard of that either. Thanks guys for chiming in.

Still my question is, how would I wire the GFCI plug which has two receptacles on it so I can run the two pumps off seperate 2-way switches?
It would be better to put the GFCI before the panel, so that all of the circuits are under GFCI protection. If a 120v panel, then put a GFCI outlet on the wall where you will plug the panel in. If 240v, same principle, but you would use either a GFCI breaker or a GFCI spa panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:00 PM   #16
skepace
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Denver, Colorado
Posts: 315
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
It would be better to put the GFCI before the panel, so that all of the circuits are under GFCI protection. If a 120v panel, then put a GFCI outlet on the wall where you will plug the panel in. If 240v, same principle, but you would use either a GFCI breaker or a GFCI spa panel.
Good point. If I am using a 30A 240V heating element, I would have to use the GFCI breaker or spa panel right? I don't plan on boiling water in my HLT but from what I have read, the element still might pull the full watage if something goes wrong.

Correct?
__________________
Primary: None
Secondary: None
Kegged: "McCranky" Svotch Wee Heavy
In The Pipeline: "Fat Man" Christmas/Strong Ale; "Lulu the Shadow Dog" Chocolate Stout; "Angry Bear" Dry-Hopped Double IPA

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:04 PM   #17
Bensiff
 
Bensiff's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
, Washington, the state
Posts: 4,938
Liked 397 Times on 315 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
I've been associated with the elctrical trade for more years than you have been around. I also have no clue what the "jockey box" you reference is.

Go easy. I recommend it.
Strange, must be a local thing that electricians I know use, that and j-box...just a junction box, but they use it as a catch all for any of their electrical boxes, whether a junction or a light switch.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:05 PM   #18
Bensiff
 
Bensiff's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
, Washington, the state
Posts: 4,938
Liked 397 Times on 315 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
It would be better to put the GFCI before the panel, so that all of the circuits are under GFCI protection. If a 120v panel, then put a GFCI outlet on the wall where you will plug the panel in. If 240v, same principle, but you would use either a GFCI breaker or a GFCI spa panel.
+1, everything needs to be protected with GFCI

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:13 PM   #19
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by skepace View Post
Good point. If I am using a 30A 240V heating element, I would have to use the GFCI breaker or spa panel right? I don't plan on boiling water in my HLT but from what I have read, the element still might pull the full watage if something goes wrong.

Correct?
Yes on the GFCI.

Also, the GFCI is there to protect life, and in that context it has nothing to do with how you are using the using the element.

Incidentally, the way a PID/SSR control an element is by cycling on and off, so when it is on it draws 100% current. The relative time on vs. off is how it maintains temperature.

skepace Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:20 PM   #20
skepace
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Denver, Colorado
Posts: 315
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Yes on the GFCI.

Also, the GFCI is there to protect life, and in that context it has nothing to do with how you are using the using the element.

Incidentally, the way a PID/SSR control an element is by cycling on and off, so when it is on it draws 100% current. The relative time on vs. off is how it maintains temperature.
Got it. That's what I thought. I have been lurking on a lot of posts by everyone that has posted on mine to try and become learned.

Would this female receptacle work? I wouldn't see why not for the heating element to plug into.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_246702-1571-...-30&facetInfo=
__________________
Primary: None
Secondary: None
Kegged: "McCranky" Svotch Wee Heavy
In The Pipeline: "Fat Man" Christmas/Strong Ale; "Lulu the Shadow Dog" Chocolate Stout; "Angry Bear" Dry-Hopped Double IPA

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build my BCS-462 control panel! kaz4121 Automated Brewing Forum 8 03-03-2013 06:29 PM
Control panel too small... CoalCracker Electric Brewing 2 10-09-2012 01:55 PM
My 2 PID 2 SSR control panel build BSD_Glass Electric Brewing 7 04-06-2012 02:11 PM
Control panel Build Beeskneesbrew Electric Brewing 2 03-20-2012 10:33 PM
Control Panel Build sdugre Electric Brewing 9 10-14-2011 05:47 AM


Forum Jump