Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 30 amp breaker help
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2013, 03:56 AM   #21
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 910
Liked 95 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 133

Default

T Baggins - Please make sure you have fully functional, fairly new, smoke detectors in your trailer. Have an emergency escape plan as well.

Please!


__________________
On Tap:
Second Amendment Amber
Rearranger IPA
Ponchy Pale Ale - Falconer's Flight
NippleRub Ultra (Light Lager w/Mexican Lager yeast)

In the Chamber:
Empty - IT'S TOO HOT TO BREW

Next Up:
I SAID, IT'S TOO HOT TO BREW
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:09 PM   #22
thirstyutahn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 147
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Sssooo now that we have that out of the way did anyone get a chance to look at my wiring diagram?

Would that work?

Again my main thing is I need a 30amp gfci breaker to plug my rig into.

Thanks


thirstyutahn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:14 PM   #23
prandlesc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
prandlesc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 422
Liked 51 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Your diagram looks fine. And yes, the GFCI would be in the new panel. And if your control panel is rated at 30 amps, your breaker should match or exceed that requirement. Make sure you understand your code as to whether you can use PVC conduit or have to use rigid conduit. My thought is outside where the conduit is exposed to UV and anywhere it could be damaged, rigid conduit should be used.

I'm questioning your capacity - is 30 amps enough?. What is the highest wattage requirement of your heating elements? As an example, if you have 4500 watt elements, you'll need 40 amp breakers (4500 watts / 120 volts = 37.5 amps). 30 amps limits you to about 3500 watts.
And is is much safer to oversize that to heat up your wiring and breakers. My suggestions would be to go to at least 40 amp, and maybe 50 amp if your calculations determine that 40 is too little.
__________________
On Tap: Off-Wit - a witbier with a little color; Heady Topper clone (oh, so close); Pumpkin Saison; Vienna Lager; Irish Stout; Imperial Oktoberfest.
In Fermenters:
In Kegs: Black Water (Russian Imperial Stout)
In The Barrel: [I] Russian Imperial Stout[/B]
Next Brews: Maple Pecan Nut Brown Ale
prandlesc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:28 PM   #24
kopper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 32
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prandlesc View Post
I'm questioning your capacity - is 30 amps enough?. What is the highest wattage requirement of your heating elements? As an example, if you have 4500 watt elements, you'll need 40 amp breakers (4500 watts / 120 volts = 37.5 amps). 30 amps limits you to about 3500 watts.
And is is much safer to oversize that to heat up your wiring and breakers. My suggestions would be to go to at least 40 amp, and maybe 50 amp if your calculations determine that 40 is too little.
The way I understand the OP will be running 240v, right? That we put it at only 18.75 amps for the 4500 watt element with the 30A setup being fine. Just want to help make it clear. Maybe I missed something?
kopper is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:27 PM   #25
prandlesc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
prandlesc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 422
Liked 51 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kopper View Post
The way I understand the OP will be running 240v, right? That we put it at only 18.75 amps for the 4500 watt element with the 30A setup being fine. Just want to help make it clear. Maybe I missed something?
Good catch on my missed thinking and/or math. I'd still suggest you do a quick calculation. But, if your control panel is designed to handle the heating elements you are using and has 30 amp requirement, then you should be fine.
__________________
On Tap: Off-Wit - a witbier with a little color; Heady Topper clone (oh, so close); Pumpkin Saison; Vienna Lager; Irish Stout; Imperial Oktoberfest.
In Fermenters:
In Kegs: Black Water (Russian Imperial Stout)
In The Barrel: [I] Russian Imperial Stout[/B]
Next Brews: Maple Pecan Nut Brown Ale
prandlesc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 05:44 PM   #26
thirstyutahn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 147
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks guys.

Yes I'm basically building kals control panel so its definitely 30amps.

And yes id be using 240 volt.
thirstyutahn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 01:57 AM   #27
prandlesc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
prandlesc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 422
Liked 51 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

OK - how did it come out?
__________________
On Tap: Off-Wit - a witbier with a little color; Heady Topper clone (oh, so close); Pumpkin Saison; Vienna Lager; Irish Stout; Imperial Oktoberfest.
In Fermenters:
In Kegs: Black Water (Russian Imperial Stout)
In The Barrel: [I] Russian Imperial Stout[/B]
Next Brews: Maple Pecan Nut Brown Ale
prandlesc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:29 AM   #28
thirstyutahn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 147
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Haven't had a chance to work on it. Got super busy at work and other life things.

Hopefully soon though.
thirstyutahn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:23 PM   #29
JMacc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Likes Given: 2

Default

Am I the only one who thinks on the original photo (the panel with the 100A 2P breaker) is half full. Isn't there room for 4 standard size breakers rotated 180 deg? did I miss something?
JMacc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:59 PM   #30
prandlesc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
prandlesc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 422
Liked 51 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

You missed the construction of the box. It's not designed for horizontal breakers.


__________________
On Tap: Off-Wit - a witbier with a little color; Heady Topper clone (oh, so close); Pumpkin Saison; Vienna Lager; Irish Stout; Imperial Oktoberfest.
In Fermenters:
In Kegs: Black Water (Russian Imperial Stout)
In The Barrel: [I] Russian Imperial Stout[/B]
Next Brews: Maple Pecan Nut Brown Ale
prandlesc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will I Trip A Breaker? wobdee Electric Brewing 12 12-06-2012 03:17 AM
30 AMP GFI Breaker louie0202 Electric Brewing 6 09-27-2012 01:54 PM
main breaker box - relationship of main breaker to others badmajon Brew Stands 4 03-20-2011 10:53 PM
Did I Blow My Breaker? Maltose Electric Brewing 5 12-12-2010 04:58 AM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 08:20 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS