Bad LHBS experience - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > Bad LHBS experience

Old 04-18-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
steeldrummerj
Recipes 

Feb 2013
Westfield, MA
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

I went to a new store today because the one I've been buying from is seriously overpriced. I had heard about the owner being a very knowledgeable brewer, so I drove a little further to try out this store.
I've brewed 7 batches on my own, and a good 15-20 with a friend, so while I'm not an expert, I know a fair amount. Before ordering ingredients, we had a short discussion on my brewing experience. I had a recipe for a chocolate stout in my hand, and when asking for ingredients, he questioned almost every single one. Now, I'm all for feedback, but he was questioning every choice more than once. I almost had so say, "Look. Just get me what I'm asking for. I know what I'm doing." He kept telling me I was making the wrong decision with everything. I wanted 8oz more Crystal 60l than he used in his kit, and he said it would be WAY too much. "You'll have too much caramel flavor." Maybe I WANT a little more of that flavor? He straight up told me I couldn't use peated malt in a different beer because "even an ounce in 5 gallons will be undrinkable. No one will ever drink that beer."

Just had to get that off my chest. I need a homebrew.
Bottled:Cream of Three Crops, Tim's Hoppedscotch Ale, Brown Sugar Apfelwein, Exploding Grapefruit IIPA, Nemo's Irish Red, Snowed-In Stout, Sunday Brunch Stout (Pretty sure it's infected....)

Old 04-18-2013, 10:40 PM   #2
Weezy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Jan 2013
Pittsburgh, PA
Liked 336 Times on 239 Posts

Was he trying to push you into buying his kits?

Next time say hello, hand him a shopping list and state nicely that I'd like these products please... if he asks anything, say its none of your business.

Old 04-18-2013, 11:01 PM   #3