1 port or 2 port for my brew pot? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > 1 port or 2 port for my brew pot?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2013, 11:33 PM   #1
GenIke
Recipes 
 
Jan 2013
, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,189
Liked 154 Times on 118 Posts



Is the second port worth the money? I will be on a 10 gallon kettle used for the boil and to heat mash water. I dont really see a screw in thermometer as being all that useful, but I've never used one.

Would I regret only getting on port?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:42 PM   #2
Airplanedoc
Recipes 
 
Sep 2011
Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,908
Liked 394 Times on 273 Posts


You can always put a plug in a extra port. What are you going to have to go thru to get another port added later.



 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:52 PM   #3
aquenne
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Paris, Ontario
Posts: 226
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts


you may want another for whirlpool recirculation..

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:56 PM   #4
GenIke
Recipes 
 
Jan 2013
, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,189
Liked 154 Times on 118 Posts


I've never had a kettle with any ports, so I guess I dont really know what I will want to do later.

So 2 votes for the extra port

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:43 AM   #5
eric19312
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
eric19312's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2012
, NY
Posts: 1,033
Liked 120 Times on 98 Posts


I've got 3 and like them all.

Need the drain.
Sight glass is a luxury but I get a lot of use out of it. I know you can get volumes with a calibrated stick, but this is very easy to read.

The thermometer is great during whirlpool, hop stand and chilling...I use imersion chiller.


 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:52 AM   #6
lumpher
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
texas
Posts: 5,063
Liked 264 Times on 225 Posts


i really like having 2. i have a drain and a blichmann thermometer. having the thermo installed is so much better than breaking out the floating thermo, sanitizing it, making sure you don't hit it up against anything, etc.
__________________
There is no "i" in denial.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:10 PM   #7
alien
Recipes 
 
Apr 2012
Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 67 Times on 58 Posts


I've got a second for a thermowell.

Someone posted a recirculation arm that hooked over the side of the pot which looked like a good solution.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:21 PM   #8
erikpete18
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Seattle, WA
Posts: 829
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts


When I was getting mine I went with 2 (one drain and one thermo). Quickly decided that I wanted a sightglass as well, so got one with a thermo included, so then I didn't need that port anymore. Now I use the 2nd port to whirlpool with the drain port, a pump, and my CFC, which has sped up cooling nicely. So I'd say a thermo port isn't required (especially if you're thinking about installing a sight glass yourself), but can come in handy in the future. Like was mentioned, you can always plug it for the time being if you aren't using it.

I didn't see you mention, how are you chilling? Ah, just saw you're also using this for heating mash water. In that case, or if you're using an IC, an installed thermo is pretty nice, since you don't have to keep standing up and leaning over to check on the temp you're at. You can just sit next to the pot with a beer and watch the thermo, shutting things down once its at the right spot. If you're draining hot wort from the pot and using a plate chiller or CFC, the installed thermo is less useful, but assuming the price point for the second port isn't outrageous, I'd still suggest getting it.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:27 AM   #9
WPStrassburg
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Rochester, NY
Posts: 582
Liked 37 Times on 32 Posts


I've got 4 in one of my keggles. Drain, whirlpool, level, and temp. Temp is worthless on a boil kettle as I see it now, but would be useful on HLT. Whirlpool port on a HLT would be useless as well unless you are recircing the HLT. The level is nice, but once you know where your marks are for 5 or 10 gallons isn't totally necessary. you could combine temp & level into one port if you used a tee on the outside to save a port too. 2 or 3 is all you will ever need.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 04:30 AM   #10
amandabab
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
spokane, wa
Posts: 1,971
Liked 241 Times on 183 Posts


1 or 2? No. 3 or 4 ports and plug the ones you're not using ,,,,,, YET.



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bottom Port? Or Front Port? Moby Equipment/Sanitation 28 03-31-2012 12:56 AM
Bought 3 kegs, one has a port on the bottom, can i use the port? cky1billion Equipment/Sanitation 4 11-15-2011 01:50 AM
How to Brew's Port O' Palmer BugAC Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 06-10-2011 11:54 PM
inline sight tube with oxygen port and temp probe port Marquez For Sale 5 03-24-2011 09:11 PM
Orange Choc Port vs Raspberry Choc Port Poll SueMac Winemaking Forum 4 05-11-2009 12:30 PM


Forum Jump