Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Winners Drawn!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Modified P-J design, need verification
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2013, 03:45 AM   #1
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,785
Liked 942 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default Modified P-J design, need verification

Here's a design I took from the illustrious P-J and modified it a bit. Thank you very much for the original drawing, P-J, and thanks to jtkratzer for letting me stand on your shoulders for this build.

I just want to make sure that I didn't change anything to make it unsafe or unworkable.

Original drawing name: Auberin-wiring1-a11d-RM-SYL-2352-5500w dated 05/08/2012.

Original thread here

Changes made to the original drawing:
* 25a DIN-mounted breakers changed to 30a
* 240v element power lights changed to 120v
* SW1 switches changed to SW11 switches
* Added an SW2 switch to the HLT side of the alarm setup, so there would be individual off/on switches for each PID
* Changed the numbers of the SW2 switch connections
* Designated the 1A fuse going to the E-stop as "fast blow"
* Swapped the boil kettle stuff to the left and the HLT stuff to the right (no biggie)
* Changed the color of the illuminated switches (big freaking deal, I know)

And that's it.

I am also planning on adding two RTD temperature displays, one for the MLT and one for the chiller. I'm planning on adding these to the circuit that is powering the PIDs. There won't be any switches for them. I don't think that there is much chance of them overloading that circuit.

And I'm going to be installing float switches in the positive side of SSR circuits (between the PIDs and SSRs) to stop the SSRs from firing if the float switches say that there's not enough liquids in the kettle or HLT.

So please let me know if I'm doing anything wrong with this. Thanks!



Link to the full-size drawing here in case the image doesn't show up


__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org

Reason: Added float switch info
LandoLincoln is online now
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:14 AM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 495

Default

Really nice job.!
Congrats.

P-J


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 65 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Good idea on the float switches. They will work fine in that configuration if they are NO (normally open).

If you are using the stainless ones with the M10 thread - can I ask how what you are doing for a washer to seal the connection? Thanks.
alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #4
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,785
Liked 942 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Really nice job.!
Congrats.

P-J
I couldn't have done this project without you. Thanks for your seal of approval.
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org
LandoLincoln is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:21 PM   #5
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,785
Liked 942 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alien View Post
Good idea on the float switches. They will work fine in that configuration if they are NO (normally open).

If you are using the stainless ones with the M10 thread - can I ask how what you are doing for a washer to seal the connection? Thanks.
I haven't drilled the hole for them yet, but the SS Auber Instruments float switches come with a clear silicon flat washer and a locknut. I'll probably drill that this weekend and see how water tight it is. The end of the float switch where the wires come out is sealed shut with some clear epoxy. It looks like it would be pretty waterproof.
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org
LandoLincoln is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:25 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 495

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LandoLincoln View Post
I haven't drilled the hole for them yet, but the SS Auber Instruments float switches come with a clear silicon flat washer and a locknut. I'll probably drill that this weekend and see how water tight it is. The end of the float switch where the wires come out is sealed shut with some clear epoxy. It looks like it would be pretty waterproof.
Hi,

I have a buring question for you regarding the Auber Instruments Float Switch Model: FSW1. The info on the Auber web site states that the switch is N/C when it is installed as shown (float at the bottom). They also say that if you want the action reversed the float switch has to be mounted with the float pointing up.

I have this idea buzzing around in my head that if you pull the bottom "C" clip and flip the actual float & then reclip it - the action of the switch will be reversed. i.e. it now becomes a N/O switch when the float is at the bottom. If this is true, the switch now becomes a superior product for our use. It sure would make your install a less cumbersome possibility.

Could you test out my theory and let me know? Please?

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:44 PM   #7
LandoLincoln
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
LandoLincoln's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 2,785
Liked 942 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Hi,

I have a buring question for you regarding the Auber Instruments Float Switch Model: FSW1. The info on the Auber web site states that the switch is N/C when it is installed as shown (float at the bottom). They also say that if you want the action reversed the float switch has to be mounted with the float pointing up.

I have this idea buzzing around in my head that if you pull the bottom "C" clip and flip the actual float & then reclip it - the action of the switch will be reversed. i.e. it now becomes a N/O switch when the float is at the bottom. If this is true, the switch now becomes a superior product for our use. It sure would make your install a less cumbersome possibility.

Could you test out my theory and let me know? Please?

P-J
Yes, I could try that. I'll let you know the results sometime this week.
__________________
www.jolietbrewersguild.org
LandoLincoln is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 03:15 PM   #8
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 65 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

@P-J, it's a good observation. I believe the design of these sensors is that there is an internal reed switch in the arm and the float contains a ring magnet with S on end and and N on the other. So by reversing the float you should reverse the action of the switch from NC to NO.

See e.g. http://www.flow-network.com/mechanic...switch_nc.html
alien is offline
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 03:50 PM   #9
jCOSbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 628
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

It looks like your design allows you to enable the contactors for Boil and HLT at the same time. Not a good idea since your input power is limited to 30amps.

Consider using a 3-way switch to select Boil OR HLT and enable the appropriate contactor.
jCOSbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:19 PM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 495

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jCOSbrew View Post
It looks like your design allows you to enable the contactors for Boil and HLT at the same time. Not a good idea since your input power is limited to 30amps.

Consider using a 3-way switch to select Boil OR HLT and enable the appropriate contactor.
The power input is 50A feeding a set of circuit breakers for the different functions. The input power is not limited to 30A.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for verification of what i know to be true... brewkinger Fermentation & Yeast 6 01-25-2013 04:55 PM
Quick verification of CO2 tank status pabloj13 Bottling/Kegging 2 01-23-2013 07:51 PM
Verification of Additions Huff360 Brew Science 7 12-03-2012 03:23 AM
Decoction verification: boiling the grain? nebben All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 7 04-04-2010 04:47 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS