Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Two Wire RTD PT100 question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2013, 07:50 PM   #1
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default Two Wire RTD PT100 question

I am having problems wiring a two wire white and black PT100 RTD that I got from Brewers Hardware to a MyPin TA4. I have set the TA4 for the proper input. Just keep getting a ULLL for the temp reading.

I have attached the wiring diagram. Any help would be much appreciated.


Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
AllanMar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 192
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

How are you connecting it?

I'm not familiar with this PID, but from the DWG you posted PIN 7 & 10 connect to one side of the RTD and 8&9 to the other side.


AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default

right now I have white connected to 7 and black to 8
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:25 PM   #4
AllanMar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 192
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Install jumpers as shown in the diagram (7 to 10 and 8 to 9)
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:42 PM   #5
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 29
Default

That does it! Thanks for the help!
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:29 PM   #6
AllanMar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 192
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

No problem. Keep in mind as it's a 2-wire RTD line resistance will effect the reading, so make sure you do some sort of calibration/verification just to be sure.
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 01:48 PM   #7
tlb2525
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO
Posts: 9
Default RTD's and the TA4

I buy my RTD's from Auber Instruments and they are 3-wire...2 reds and 1 white. I use the TA4 and have never had a problem.
tlb2525 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 01:57 AM   #8
thirstytroll
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the wiring configuration on this T4. this helped. I am using this for my freezer to lager. I have set the the set value to 34 degrees, the the thermocouple reads 46 degrees(in my garage which is about right ) .The freezer should turn on and nothing is happening. The manual is pathetic . Are there parameters i need to change other then the control direction to COOL ? Very frustrated. I wished i brought the most simplistic one.Please help.
thirstytroll is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
AllanMar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 192
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlb2525 View Post
I buy my RTD's from Auber Instruments and they are 3-wire...2 reds and 1 white. I use the TA4 and have never had a problem.
3-wire RTD's compensate for line resistance and do not usually suffer from the problems I mentioned with 2-wires.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirstytroll View Post
Thanks for the wiring configuration on this T4. this helped. I am using this for my freezer to lager. I have set the the set value to 34 degrees, the the thermocouple reads 46 degrees(in my garage which is about right ) .The freezer should turn on and nothing is happening. The manual is pathetic . Are there parameters i need to change other then the control direction to COOL ? Very frustrated. I wished i brought the most simplistic one.Please help.
Please provide some details on how you have it wired now? Does the display indicate that the output is coming on, or no?
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 04:54 PM   #10
thirstytroll
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for your response. I wired the 2 wire thermocouple PT100( two identical black wires) to #7 an 8. And two wires that hop, as was described by you on a prior post. one for #7 to #10 , and #8 to #9. By doing the hops. I got a good temp reading. The (out) led light goes on like it should but the volt reading is about 11-12 volts. I also flipped the two thermo wires just to see ,and no change.


thirstytroll is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any good alternatives to Pt100 RTD ? theQ Electric Brewing 27 02-05-2013 05:32 PM
Another 3-wire/4-wire question (sorry) PopNLochNessMonsta Electric Brewing 5 10-13-2012 12:45 AM
Connecting a Three wire inline GFCI to a 4 wire Outlet? ODI3 Electric Brewing 3 10-10-2012 03:02 PM
4-wire GFCI 220 volt cable with a 3-wire dryer outlet? gshopper Electric Brewing 12 07-17-2012 11:49 PM
How-To: Pt100/RTD 1/2" NPT Thermowell PaulHilgeman Kettles, Mash Tuns, & Hot Liquor Tanks 12 05-11-2011 10:12 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS