1 pid, 2 ssr, 110v? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 1 pid, 2 ssr, 110v?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 02:30 PM   #1
Vellum
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 192
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts



Hi all,

I'm getting ready to start ordering the supplies to build a very basic e-bib 110v system. I would like to keep things relatively simple but still have everything run through one control box. I have seen on 110v systems where two elements are used, one through the pid and the other one its own cord into its own circuit (I.e. not through the control box).

I know I can wire both elements through the control box independently but I was wondering if their is a way for the pid to control both elements while each element is on its own 20a circuit. Sorry if my electrical terms are off, I'm an accountant...so basically can the pid control two ssrs with each Ssr on its own electrical circuit?

If so, any ideas on a wiring diagram? This is to be a simple control panel, no pumps, just maybe an on off switch unless you guys suggest something that I am overlooking that you feel I absolutely need.

Thank you for your help.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


How about something like this:

As always - click on the image to see (and save) a full scale diagram printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")



Hopes this helps.

P-J

Vellum Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:32 PM   #3
Vellum
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 192
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts


Thank you so much PJ! That is exactly what I'm thinking of. Nice and simple. Thanks for including the pumps just in case. One more question: as long as I plug the box into two gfci outlets I shouldn't need to include any other type of protection right?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 04:41 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellum View Post
Thank you so much PJ! That is exactly what I'm thinking of. Nice and simple. Thanks for including the pumps just in case. One more question: as long as I plug the box into two gfci outlets I shouldn't need to include any other type of protection right?
That is correct.

Just another note: With the 2000W elements the current draw on each will be 17A. This means you would need each outlet to be on a 20A circuit and on seperate breakers.

If you use 1500W elements you can use 2 - 15A circuits as the current draw would be 12.5A on each.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:20 PM   #5
Vellum
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 192
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts


Thanks so much PJ. Your help is invaluable.

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:18 PM   #6
Rbeckett
 
Rbeckett's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Bronson, Fl
Posts: 995
Liked 70 Times on 49 Posts


PJ,
Dude you rock. I was also looking for a simplified PID set up for my tower. I plan to run two pids, one pump, and various other switches to control air solenoid valves for the tippy dump and leg extensions. This diagram give me a perfect base circuit to doublle and then add the remaining control circuits as needed. Thanks man!!!!

Wheelchair Bob
__________________
What do you mean "no Kidneys"???, WTF now I gotta drink less beer...
Join the Automation sub forum in Electric brewing for a discussion of components and control systems. I did!!!!

P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:02 PM   #7
thargrav
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
That is correct.

Just another note: With the 2000W elements the current draw on each will be 17A. This means you would need each outlet to be on a 20A circuit and on seperate breakers.

If you use 1500W elements you can use 2 - 15A circuits as the current draw would be 12.5A on each.
Or you can use two 1650 Watt elements and be just below 15 Amps each (13.75 A).

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:15 PM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 301 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
Or you can use two 1650 Watt elements and be just below 15 Amps each (13.75 A).
Sounds good - but?
Then the pump(s)?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:31 PM   #9
thargrav
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts


Sure, a MARCH 0809-0196-0600 pump is rated at 1.4 Amps, but I checked mine with a amprobe and it draws less than 1 Amp running. The reason is a motor's current draw is dependent on load & apparantly these, or at least mine, is not under full load whan running.

So, the pump + the element should draw slightly less than 15 Amps.

Here's what my pump is running.
http://www.instructables.com/id/Buil...el-RIMS-tube-/

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:37 PM   #10
lwcm
Recipes 
 
Oct 2011
Lincoln, NE
Posts: 85

What would the minimum wattage required be to boil 5-7 gallons of wort? I have a 20a 110v outlet and I think another 15-20A 110v outlet in separate portions of my workshop.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One 220v or two 110v? goybar Electric Brewing 12 09-04-2014 11:26 PM
110V eHERMS do-able for 10 Gal? hot_carl Brew Stands 4 11-22-2012 01:31 AM
110v Hlt kickrjason Electric Brewing 24 07-08-2012 04:05 AM
110v to 3v??? BigPatBrewer Electric Brewing 18 05-07-2012 06:04 PM
1 PID for 2 110v elements mr_tripp Electric Brewing 6 05-06-2011 03:08 AM


Forum Jump