Wire voltage rating? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Wire voltage rating?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2013, 06:35 PM   #1
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts



I was just stealing some wire from a power adapter. The cable with two wires was rated at 300V, but the wires I've yanked out of there don't have anything printed on them. Does the additional insulation provided by the cable jacket make the difference here, or should I be safe using these wires at 110V?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:22 PM   #2
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jan 2010
Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 292
Liked 42 Times on 32 Posts


That depends on where and how you want to use them.

They are probably OK for connections between components inside an appropriate enclosure, provided they are protected from abrasion and overheating.

They wouldn't be OK to run through a conduit or somewhere that they are exposed.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:40 PM   #3
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


It's the neutral wire to my Love controller in my keezer. Will route between the pink foam board insulation and the wood.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:15 PM   #4
reynolds5520
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Jan 2010
Western Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 292
Liked 42 Times on 32 Posts


I really can't advise you to use that wire in that application. It may or may not be suitable. Without markings there is no way to know.

You want something made for use as appliance wire.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:44 PM   #5
zachattack
Recipes 
 
Mar 2012
, MA
Posts: 2,792
Liked 302 Times on 255 Posts


Do you know the gauge of the wire? You need to be concerned with the current rating rather than the voltage rating.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:48 PM   #6
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


It appears to be 18AWG, but current rating isn't really a concern, as this neutral wire is only powering the controller, not the freezer. I've got 14AWG 300V stuff powering the freezer. More than adequate. I just wanted to make sure the insulation it had on it wasn't going to break down at 110V since it didn't have the added cable jacket it came in. I'm going for it. I'm sure it's gonna be fine.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 10:55 PM   #7
Yellowirenut
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Yellowirenut's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2013
, Indiana
Posts: 468
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts


18awg is low voltage wiring..below 30 volts.

Its the type of wire used to connect your thermostat to your furnace. Not recommended for 110v. Unless otherwise printed on the insulation jacket.


14awg is rated for 15 amps..by code should only be subjected to 12 amps continuously.
__________________
~ salle de brassage ~

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:17 PM   #8
kerklein2
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Austin
Posts: 397
Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowirenut View Post
18awg is low voltage wiring..below 30 volts.

Its the type of wire used to connect your thermostat to your furnace. Not recommended for 110v. Unless otherwise printed on the insulation jacket.


14awg is rated for 15 amps..by code should only be subjected to 12 amps continuously.
The wire was in an overmolded cable rated for 300V. That's my overall question. What would you expect the wire inside this cable to be rated to? Also 300V? That's what I would expect, but I'm not sure. It's clearly not low-voltage wire.

And the NEC rates 14AWG for 25A with 90C insulation. Regardless, it's a chest freezer and is probably something like 5A.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:34 PM   #9
gtmaus
Recipes 
 
May 2012
St. Louis, MO
Posts: 190
Liked 29 Times on 18 Posts


The outer jacket on the cable is just for protection, not insulation purposes. I'd assume the wire is good for 300v but why risk it. Go buy yourself some 14awg wire. For the amount is sounds like you need it won't cost much.

There's a lot more to the NEC than that chart. In my 20yr electrical career 14awg is used for 15a circuits

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:53 PM   #10
Toymaker
Arrgh!
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Toymaker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 152
Liked 25 Times on 16 Posts


Wire voltage rating has nothing to do with the conductor size or Gauge. The current draw in the circuit determines size.
Wire voltage rating is based on the insulation type and thickness. This is "generally" written on the insulation somewhere. If it is not, you have to assume it is rated for low voltage circuits.
__________________
Cheers,
Gary

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire 240V Spa Panel to 4 wire out (AGAIN) Ducheney123 Electric Brewing 9 12-09-2012 03:05 PM
4 wire to 3 wire 240v adapter cable? DustBow Electric Brewing 5 12-07-2012 01:22 AM
Connecting a Three wire inline GFCI to a 4 wire Outlet? ODI3 Electric Brewing 3 10-10-2012 03:02 PM
Voltage Rating. What exactly does mean? mattrennert Electric Brewing 3 08-11-2012 08:30 PM
4-wire GFCI 220 volt cable with a 3-wire dryer outlet? gshopper Electric Brewing 12 07-17-2012 11:49 PM


Forum Jump