Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Has anyone added a 30a breaker to the 50a GFI spa panel?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2013, 05:24 PM   #41
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,021
Liked 180 Times on 153 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Happy to hear it.


jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 06:32 PM   #42
BadWolfBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 538
Liked 96 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

This is an old thread, but hopefully an expert will see and answer...

I am looking to do something similar. I have a 50a breaker in the main panel that I can't change. I have a 50a spa panel, and I'm building a 30a control panel.

I plan on adding a din rail to the spa panel, with a 30a double pole breaker for the 2 hot lines. Should I also add a 15 or 20a for the neutral? The neutral will only be carrying current from pumps and housekeeping power.

Or, do I need to add the 15a breaker in the control panel to one of the hot wires after the power to the heating elements splits off?

The second option seems more standard, but the control panel is going to be crowded and I'd like to move as much as possible to the spa panel.

Many thanks


BadWolfBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 06:40 PM   #43
neild5
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Forest Park, Illinois
Posts: 99
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadWolfBrewing View Post
This is an old thread, but hopefully an expert will see and answer...

I am looking to do something similar. I have a 50a breaker in the main panel that I can't change. I have a 50a spa panel, and I'm building a 30a control panel.

I plan on adding a din rail to the spa panel, with a 30a double pole breaker for the 2 hot lines. Should I also add a 15 or 20a for the neutral? The neutral will only be carrying current from pumps and housekeeping power.

Or, do I need to add the 15a breaker in the control panel to one of the hot wires after the power to the heating elements splits off?

The second option seems more standard, but the control panel is going to be crowded and I'd like to move as much as possible to the spa panel.

Many thanks

You do not want a breaker on the neutral, a 15 amp single pole breaker in the spa panel is the way to go, a lot of spa panels have room for 1.
neild5 is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:17 PM   #44
BadWolfBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 538
Liked 96 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Must have been suffering from a beer or two, a breaker on the neutral is not a good idea.

I found some reasonably priced DIN rail 2 pole breakers, and there is plenty of room in the spa panel. So, power-in from 50A wall circuit goes into 50A gfci breaker, output of that goes to input of 30A DIN mount breaker. This goes to a receptacle for the control panel power cord.

I'll use a small breaker in the control panel to locally step down to a 15A (or even 6A is enough) circuit I guess. If I put the 15A breaker in the spa panel, I'll have to carry 5 wires from the spa panel to the control panel (2 30A rated hots, 1 15A rated hot, common, ground), which is weird...

This all seem alright?
BadWolfBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 07:56 PM   #45
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,810
Liked 1335 Times on 876 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

I'm bumping this only because I made the incorrect assumption (while standing in Home Depot) that the extra breaker position in the Midwest 50a spa box was a post GFCI. Duh, I should have looked it up ahead of time or took the time to grab a screwdriver in the store to have a look.

There were a lot of questions regarding why you'd want to do this and I'm sure everyone has their own reason. Here's mine. I installed a 50a breaker in the main panel and ran 6/4 romex over to the spa panel. From there it goes to a separate 50a outlet. The plan is to construct a brewing panel that will use every bit of the 50a, but I want to do some testing on simple 30a control boxes without having to run 6/4 SOOW cable at a whopping $4 a foot.

Now I'm just considering making a modular 240v subpanel on the end of a 6/4 cable with a 30a and 20a breaker in there along with a 50a, 30a, and 20a (all 240v) outlets in the cover. This contraption would give me access to all load requirements for testing and general use and they'd all be GFCI protected.

The [D] homeline 100a lug box is only $20 and another $25 or so for all the breakers. The bonus is that although I permanently installed my spa panel, this breakout box would be fully portable and come with me when I move. Any problems with that?
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 12:24 PM   #46
BadWolfBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 538
Liked 96 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I ended up putting a 30a din rail breaker in the spa panel. It is tight, but works.

You can take the little breaker guts out of the spa panel and put it into something bigger, I thought about doing that. That will give you more room to add some din rail breakers, which are really easy to use and look snappy
BadWolfBrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 01:52 AM   #47
Lumpyyyyy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Methuen, MA
Posts: 168
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Reviving this thread in the hope that someone will see and point me in the right direction. I'm looking for a 240V, 30A din rail break and had two questions.

1) Can something like this work for what is being discussed here?

2) For wiring, is this connected inline, between the 50amp GFCI breaker on the spa panel and the outlet to go to the control panel? I imagine it will only be for the two hot lines and not the ground/neutral, is this correct?

Again, yes I know this is an old thread, but find it applicable for my question.
Lumpyyyyy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 01:58 AM   #48
neild5
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Forest Park, Illinois
Posts: 99
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Yes it will work, the spa panel is going provide the GFCI protection. The 30 amp breaker will protect the control panel. This what I have, just a different mount


neild5 is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
breaker bracket from sub panel Robhansen Electric Brewing 6 10-03-2012 12:54 PM
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
GE Spa Panel Breaker sdugre Electric Brewing 9 07-18-2011 07:22 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS