Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Has anyone added a 30a breaker to the 50a GFI spa panel?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2013, 11:06 PM   #1
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,996
Liked 170 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default Has anyone added a 30a breaker to the 50a GFI spa panel?

A few inquiries have come up within the past few weeks, where people have had 40a or 50a breakers in the main panel, but wanted a 30a rated control panel. Certainly one way to achieve this would be to add a 30a breaker to a 50a GFI spa panel, like the Midwest one. For example, the load would come through the 50a GFI breaker then through the 30a breaker.

Has anyone built something like this? If so, any insights into the build? E.g., how did you mount the 30a breaker?
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:16 PM   #2
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, Outside the peoples Republic of Madigan
Posts: 1,913
Liked 392 Times on 271 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

You generally cant add a breaker to a spa box. Any I have seen were for a single breaker.
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:16 PM   #3
BetterSense
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 981
Liked 46 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

My Home Depot spa panel has room for several additional breakers.

What do you mean by 'main panel'? I have a 30-amp circuit, into which I plug a 50-amp spa panel, which I used to GFCI-protect my brewing setup. I don't see the need for an additional 30A breaker in the spa panel. Although I guess in theory if you wanted to run other things off the 50A circuit in your main panel, you could do it. But otherwise why not just replace the breaker in the 'main panel' with a 30A one?
BetterSense is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:19 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 488

Default

jeffmeh,

Just to give you a heads up on this:



Take a close look at the internals of the Spa Panel -

There is a position for an additional 240V 2 pole breaker above the GFCI breaker - BUT - the power feed for it comes from the same power feed input to the GFCI breaker.

In other words - the second breaker will not be GFCI protected.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:37 PM   #5
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,996
Liked 170 Times on 146 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
jeffmeh,

Just to give you a heads up on this:



Take a close look at the internals of the Spa Panel -

There is a position for an additional 240V 2 pole breaker above the GFCI breaker - BUT - the power feed for it comes from the same power feed input to the GFCI breaker.

In other words - the second breaker will not be GFCI protected.

P-J
Thanks. It does look like there might be enough room to mount another 30a breaker in the top right, perhaps a mini breaker on a short DIN rail. Does that sound feasible?

The "main panel" in this context would be whatever circuit breakers are upstream of the spa panel, which would normally be the circuit panel that feeds the home or apartment, but could be a subpanel.

As to why not to just swap out the larger breaker in the main panel, it could be that 40a or 50a are required for another appliance, or that it is an apartment and the brewer/tenant cannot alter the wiring.
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:49 PM   #6
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,613
Liked 275 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Sorry I don't understand the reasoning behind this, what do you mean by a 30A rated panel? I would imagine that any savings in being able to use a lighter wire gauge would be eaten up by the cost of the breaker.
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
g-love
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Posts: 690
Liked 113 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

I've been contemplating this exact thing. I'm just going to say F it and buy a 30 amp gfi breaker for my main panel. I know the spa panel is the cheaper route for the gfci protection, but I don't need a 50 amp breaker, I need a 30 amp.

These things are stupid expensive though... :-\
__________________
Fermenting - Nada
Bottled/ Kegged - Reaper's Mild
Up Next: a porter
g-love is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:21 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 488

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
Thanks. It does look like there might be enough room to mount another 30a breaker in the top right, perhaps a mini breaker on a short DIN rail. Does that sound feasible?

...
Now that is a very doable idea. Just mount the DIN rail 240V 30A breaker (upper right) and feed it from the GFCI output within the panel

With that plan you would have the 30A GFCI protected power feed to your rig. Another thought is that if you decide to reconfigure your brewery, you still have the power (40A or 50A) with GFCI protection available for your controller.

I TAG this idea "Brilliant".

Let me know.. (Please)

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:23 AM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 488

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g-love View Post
I've been contemplating this exact thing. I'm just going to say F it and buy a 30 amp gfi breaker for my main panel. I know the spa panel is the cheaper route for the gfci protection, but I don't need a 50 amp breaker, I need a 30 amp.

These things are stupid expensive though... :-\
Read the reply I just posted...
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:26 AM   #10
AllanMar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 191
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

FYI if you go the DIN route make sure you get a UL489 DIN breaker vs the more common UL1077 DIN breaker.

UL489 is meant for branch circuit protection.
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
breaker bracket from sub panel Robhansen Electric Brewing 6 10-03-2012 12:54 PM
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
GE Spa Panel Breaker sdugre Electric Brewing 9 07-18-2011 07:22 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 06:42 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS