Heating Element / Controller Question - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Heating Element / Controller Question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2013, 08:02 PM   #1
NWMushroom
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NWMushroom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Northern Coast, Oregon
Posts: 322
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts



Quick question.

I am looking at heating elements/controllers that will plug into my stove outlet.

Looking at my stove outlet, I have a four prong socket (the stove plug only has three prongs). The socket is printed with '250v 50A'. When I look in the circuit/breaker box in the house the circuit breaker for the stove is marked 40A.

The controller and 4500W element I am looking at have the following requirements:

220V 30A service. Includes a 6 ft power cord with either a 3-wire plug (NEMA 10-30P) or a 4-wire plug (NEMA 14-30P).

Is this going to be OK for my stove outlet?

Thanks in advance.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:52 PM   #2
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


The short answer is no, because the 40a breaker is oversized for the 10 gauge wire. You would need a 30a breaker so that it would trip if the 10 gauge wire overheated.

You should also think about GFCI protection.

NWMushroom Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:58 PM   #3
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2009
Posts: 2,159
Liked 211 Times on 181 Posts


Among your alternatives:
1) Replace with a 30a breaker, although that may not be sufficient for your stove.
2) Find/build a controller that uses wire (8 gauge) and fixtures rated for 40a or more (readily available outlets and receptacles will be rated for 50a).

I'm assuming your current receptacle is NEMA 14-50?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:01 PM   #4
NWMushroom
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NWMushroom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Northern Coast, Oregon
Posts: 322
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Ummmm.... pass!

Here is a picture of the stove outlet:



Here is a picture of the dryer outlet:



Here is a picture of the two breakers (dryer on left, stove on right).



I am a renter so can't install or change anything.

Am I out of options?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:40 PM   #5
jCOSbrew
Recipes 
 
Feb 2012
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 619
Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts


That is a 3-wire outlet. Should be Hot1, Hot2, and Gnd.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:53 PM   #6
NWMushroom
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NWMushroom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Northern Coast, Oregon
Posts: 322
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


OK, so what does that mean in terms of my ability to come up with an electric brewing rig?

My apologies if it's obvious - I am not electrically inclined (or skilled)!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:00 PM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,336
Liked 302 Times on 235 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by NWMushroom View Post
OK, so what does that mean in terms of my ability to come up with an electric brewing rig?

My apologies if it's obvious - I am not electrically inclined (or skilled)!
You have the power source. All is ok.

Now all you need to do is define what you want for your set up. Tell us what controls you want in place and how you want to run your rig.

I can help with the right info.

P-J

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:06 PM   #8
NWMushroom
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NWMushroom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Northern Coast, Oregon
Posts: 322
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Originally I was looking at just getting something 'off the shelf' due to my lack of electrical expertise.

Something like this: http://www.highgravitybrew.com/produ...stem-p3987.htm

But from this thread, I understand that this won't be possible with my power source?

Thanks!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:13 PM   #9
mikeysab
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
mikeysab's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
staten island
Posts: 4,505
Liked 547 Times on 416 Posts


Youre only gonna be drawing around 20 amps so youre fine with the breaker. Oversizing is fine, not undersizing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper
We be in a big hurry for dope beer with much alcamahol and flavor, quality, balance, and aroma don't matter.
Mikeysab on untappd.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:01 AM   #10
NWMushroom
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
NWMushroom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Northern Coast, Oregon
Posts: 322
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
The short answer is no, because the 40a breaker is oversized for the 10 gauge wire. You would need a 30a breaker so that it would trip if the 10 gauge wire overheated.

You should also think about GFCI protection.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeysab View Post
Youre only gonna be drawing around 20 amps so youre fine with the breaker. Oversizing is fine, not undersizing.
So 1 says yay, 1 says nay!

Help!!

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heating element with controller aram Electric Brewing 18 10-31-2015 01:24 AM
Reviews for heating element and controller in-one "Electric Sparge/Mashing Heater" kegtoe Brew Stands 26 12-17-2010 09:52 PM
LOVE controller with 240V heating element EarthBound DIY Projects 28 05-01-2010 05:37 AM
Question about a PID Controller (Hooking up an electric heating element in HLT) jordanpace Equipment/Sanitation 1 01-25-2009 08:17 PM


Forum Jump