auto siphon problems

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rookiecd

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to homebrewing, only done a few batches. So I heard how great this auto siphon gadget is, but I did not have very good luck with it. I started it in a couple pumps and it flowed until about 4 or 5 inches from the bottom of the fermenter bucket. Must have been about a gallon of beer left. I tried restarting and I just ended up blowing bubbles in the beer. I was disappointed. When I manually siphoned and tipping the bucket, I was able to get pretty close to the bottom. Anyone have this type of problem? I don't think I lifted it above the wort and I don't think I stuck it down too low either, I think it just stopped.

The only time I had issues with leaving alot of wort behind was from not having the moveable racking cane pushed as far into the outer tube as it will go once the siphon starts. Which caused the wort in the tube towards the end to have to climb higher than the surface level inside the carboy. Other than that time I usually get 95% of what's sitting on the trub.

I haven't had a problem... but I can see how you might:

• The sediment tip is bigger than most racking canes.
  • The inner tube must be push down as far as possible - it needs to be below the water line.
  • The inner tube does not push *all* the way in.

Even with these limitations, I've never had a problem getting all of the beer out. I try to leave a very thin layer on top of the trub after fermenting... that will get a little yeast in, but not enough to make a difference (and usually just enough if bottle conditioning).