Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Running wire in conduit
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2013, 02:08 AM   #11
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWN View Post
I am talking to a friend who is building almost the same setup. He is running the wire in conduit. The 6/3 with a ground wire. Is there a reason he couldn't put it in conduit? Would there be heat issues?
Run the correct size conduit for the wire size and heat is not an issue. Also, PVC conduit is easy to install - it's cut and glued together like PVC water pipe.


thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:15 AM   #12
phreaky
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Independence, MO
Posts: 147
Liked 24 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Most local codes require the wire to be covered by two sheaths. When you have single wires, like THHN, the second sheath is the conduit itself. By using romex, the individual wires have insulation, then the entire bundle of wires have a layer of insulation, meeting that code, that's why you see them run without conduit in homes. You should be fine running just the romex, but to be positive, you'll have to check with your local electrical code.


phreaky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:41 PM   #13
BigB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 1,760
Liked 44 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

Do not run sheathed cable in conduit. The heat build-up is too much. Besides, pulling THHN through conduit is insanely easier than trying to pull a sheathed bundle through. At any rate, OP, you are fine to use the sheathed 6/3 for your set up. If you can run it along the bottom of the joists, you are certainly fine to run it inbetween the joists. To be fair, it is not necessarily a code violation to run sheathed cable in conduit as long as you don't overfill, but I can't think of any good reason to do so when THHN is so much easier (unless you were running a very short distance like down a wall).
__________________
I love the sound of an airlock bubbling in the morning. It sounds like.....VICTORY.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxBrew
It's now degenerating into nu uh and uh huhs and it no longer serves a point.
BigB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:46 PM   #14
BWN
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dexter, NY
Posts: 704
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB View Post
Do not run sheathed cable in conduit. The heat build-up is too much. Besides, pulling THHN through conduit is insanely easier than trying to pull a sheathed bundle through. At any rate, OP, you are fine to use the sheathed 6/3 for your set up. If you can run it along the bottom of the joists, you are certainly fine to run it inbetween the joists. To be fair, it is not necessarily a code violation to run sheathed cable in conduit as long as you don't overfill, but I can't think of any good reason to do so when THHN is so much easier (unless you were running a very short distance like down a wall).
Thanks for the replies. So it would be alright to run the sheathed cable down the wall in conduit to the spa panel? I don't really think it is a big deal to put in a junction box in and run the THHN wires down through but if there isn't a problem with the sheathed cable running a short distance in conduit I would rather do that. It would only be 3-4 feet and I would use big conduit( I hate pulling wire through conduit when it is a tight fit).
BWN is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:03 PM   #15
processhead
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
processhead's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 765
Liked 125 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

You can run the Romex in conduit down the wall to your spa panel. Electrical contractors do this routinely on new construction and on residential improvements.
__________________
How hard can it be?
processhead is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:52 PM   #16
BigB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 1,760
Liked 44 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWN View Post
Thanks for the replies. So it would be alright to run the sheathed cable down the wall in conduit to the spa panel? I don't really think it is a big deal to put in a junction box in and run the THHN wires down through but if there isn't a problem with the sheathed cable running a short distance in conduit I would rather do that. It would only be 3-4 feet and I would use big conduit( I hate pulling wire through conduit when it is a tight fit).
Yeah, its ok to do it that way. Electrical contractors and inspectors dispute this all of the time, but the code doesn't directly prohibit it... But both groups pretty much agree that for 6 foot distances, it is fine. Use a connector or approved bushing where the wire enters the conduit to prevent abrasion/chaffing of the wire.
__________________
I love the sound of an airlock bubbling in the morning. It sounds like.....VICTORY.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxBrew
It's now degenerating into nu uh and uh huhs and it no longer serves a point.
BigB is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:35 PM   #17
processhead
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
processhead's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 765
Liked 125 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

An electrical inspector will almost certainly reject an exposed NM (Romex) cable run down a basement wall into a spa panel or junction box.

For just a short run in conduit down your wall you should be fine.

Most of the major NEC prohibitions against running NM cable in conduit involve installations in wet areas like underground and outdoors.

To a lessor degree, de-rating the service for long runs of cable in conduit (aforementioned heat issue).
__________________
How hard can it be?
processhead is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:41 PM   #18
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,235
Liked 66 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

In my basement there are 2 romex wires coming down to receptacles for the laundry appliances. Not only are they not in conduit, they have been partially plastered into the wall, and painted over. The house inspector didn't notice. Must have been the paint job.
alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:31 PM   #19
Chriso
Broken Robot Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chriso's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Someplace, Nebraska
Posts: 4,722
Liked 75 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

Ugh, my home has wire runs just like you describe (plastered & painted over) that make me toss and turn at night thinking about the ways they could cause calamity....
__________________
BROKEN ROBOT BREWING CO.

Chriso || BJCP Certified || SMaSH Brewers, Unite! || Nebraska Brewers! || Lincoln Lagers Brew Club
"You have just experienced the paradigm shift that is....all grain brewing." - BierMuncher
Chriso is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:15 AM   #20
processhead
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
processhead's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 765
Liked 125 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriso View Post
Ugh, my home has wire runs just like you describe (plastered & painted over) that make me toss and turn at night thinking about the ways they could cause calamity....
That wiring will still be doing fine after we are all long gone.


__________________
How hard can it be?
processhead is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, ss conduit or...? ftlstrings Brew Stands 14 10-25-2012 03:19 PM
Connecting a Three wire inline GFCI to a 4 wire Outlet? ODI3 Electric Brewing 3 10-10-2012 03:02 PM
4-wire GFCI 220 volt cable with a 3-wire dryer outlet? gshopper Electric Brewing 12 07-17-2012 11:49 PM
Asco valve conduit connector? gruversm Other 7 04-08-2009 12:59 AM
electrical questions (conduit needed?) for Brutus pieper Brew Stands 1 05-06-2008 01:51 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS