Honey IPA (w/ some wheat?) recipe---critique please!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sshamash

Reaction score
Hi All,

Building a recipe, pretty new to designing, so please critique! (No worries, I have thick skin....)

Honey IPA (all-grain):

6 # 2-row
2.75 # Honey malt
1 # wheat malt (too little for character to come out?)
1 # Munich 10 L (too much?)

.5 oz CTZ @ 60min
.5 oz Citra @ 60min
1 oz Citra @5min

YeastL WLP001

ABV:5.11%
IBU:57

Looking for simple, light IPA with a nice honey character and a nice subtle wheaty mouth feel. Thoughts?

Cheers,
Saul

I am not an expert at designing recipes but I don't think you have enough late hop additions to get good flavor and aroma. I would bump up late hop additions as well. 2.75 lbs of honey malt may also be a little strong. You might think about adding a couple pounds of honey instead. Just a couple of thoughts.

Hmm, thanks for the feedback. I was considering adding some more late hop additions for the aroma, maybe even a dry hop...
Regarding the honey, I threw honey in the boil one time and it went straight to fermentables, with no trace of it in the taste. If I do use honey, is there a moe opportune time with respect to taste?
I am trying to keep it a low abv beer...summer-y.

I would reduce that honey malt.. by atleast half... Seriously.

That beer will so sweet, it will be cloying and hard to drink I'd think.

The munich is fine, will add some bready, malty notes.. The wheat is fine, will give you a little more mouth feel, and good foam retention, with a softer grain note to the whole grist.

I'd keep it the same, but maybe do .75# of honey malt.. If you use a ton of it, and remember it's a crystal malt, then I'd be sure to have a long, and low mash.