Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Bottling/Kegging > Yet another Temperature Controller Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2007, 04:41 AM   #1
Yeast Infection
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 206
Default Yet another Temperature Controller Question

I just bought a beaut of a chest freezer, 8.9 cf of glorious glorious cold beer. Now I need to keep that beer cold, and not frozen.
I want the Ranco ETC-111000, but I am not 100% sure how this works. My overall question is....Am I going to have to hard wire this thing at all? Or does it work by...I plug my chest freezer into the Ranco, and then the Ranco will turn the the chest freezer on and off accordingly? I have searched, but I need this basic question answered. Thanks all


Yeast Infection is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 05:07 AM   #2
FlyGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
FlyGuy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,618
Liked 152 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Congrats on the new purchase.

You can buy the Ranco pre-wired from a few sources. A search on eBay should turn up a few. But you can do it yourself really easily. Just get an extension cable that will handle the load of your freezer, basically cut it in half, and wire both ends into the controller. Now you plug one end into the wall, and the other (receptacle end) is where the fridge plugs in. The controller is then programmed to turn off the power to the receptacle (i.e. freezer) when it gets cold enough.

You could hard wire the controller directly to the freezer, too, but the extension cord method is more flexible (e.g., if you wanted to unplug the freezer and use it on something else).

Here are two links to wiring instructions, if you are interested:
http://www.zymico.com/thermostat.shtml
http://www.rancoetc.com/pdf/ranco_etc_instructions.pdf

There is also a good thread on this here at:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthre...ighlight=ranco


FlyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 05:24 AM   #3
Yeast Infection
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyGuy
Congrats on the new purchase.

You can buy the Ranco pre-wired from a few sources. A search on eBay should turn up a few. But you can do it yourself really easily. Just get an extension cable that will handle the load of your freezer, basically cut it in half, and wire both ends into the controller.........
Thanks alot for your quick response. That seems easy enough, now all i have to do is decide, do I want the collar connected to the lid of the freezer, or the base of the freezer......haha say goodbye bottles....
Yeast Infection is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 01:48 PM   #4
camiller
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 1,888
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeast Infection
...now all i have to do is decide, do I want the collar connected to the lid of the freezer, or the base of the freezer......

If attached to the lid the weight of the collar would probably keep the lid from being able to remain up by itself without some kind of prop, plus your beverage lines might have to be excessively long to reach your shanks while the lid is open. Better to put the collar on the bottom. Just my two hundredths of a dollar.


Edit. Oh, and if the collar is on the lid you would have to set the freezer further from the wall to open the lid.
camiller is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 01:56 PM   #5
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,752
Liked 1300 Times on 854 Posts
Likes Given: 35

Default

Sorry, I'm on the opposite side. I put my collar on the lid and think it's the better method (obviously). You're going to want your lines to be at least 7' anyway so longer lines is a moot point. It depends how strong the lid springs are but mine hold up the collar, lid, and four Perlick faucets just fine with no prop. The best part of collar on the lid is that you cannot bump your faucets while you're loading/unloading the kegs. Nothing like breaking off a tap stem or even pouring a pint onto your foot to ruin a day.

Now, I see a lot of guys using 2 x 6 lumber to build a collar. If that's the plan, forget mounting to the lid.

See my vids for the conversion process.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:11 PM   #6
Yeast Infection
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 206
Default

Yeah, Bobby, I have watched your videos, and that is where I got the idea of putting it on the lid. The only thing is....you did a reallllly nice job on that. I dont know if I have the craftsmanship for that. I have all my faucets and lines and every thing, for now I just may hook up a picnic tap, as I only have 1 keg filled, and it is going to be a few weeks before others get filled. During that time I will do lots o' planning and figure out what works best for me.

Oh, and I ordered the Ranco this morning.....cant wait to fire this puppy up!
Yeast Infection is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:13 PM   #7
blefferd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 455
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

sorry to get this further off topic lol, but i just mounted a collar to the freezer, but if this freezer ever dies my next one is going to be mounted to the lid, i have about 4 1/2 feet+ to lift a keg now lol
__________________
Автомат Калашникова Brewing Co.

Beer and Kalashnikov since 2007
blefferd is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 03:50 PM   #8
mrkeeg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sundre, AB
Posts: 229
Default

Has anyone ever tried mucking with the native temp controller on a freezer to be able to dial it down further, thus negating the requirement for a $60 external controller?

... I suppose if it was possible there would be more posts on that, and fewer on how to use an external controller....

Keegan


mrkeeg is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temperature controller wiring question. Schnitzengiggle Fermenters 7 12-23-2011 06:26 AM
Johnson Analog Temperature Controller Temperature Profile Coastarine Equipment/Sanitation 4 10-11-2010 03:58 PM
Temperature Controller Question Erythro73 Fermenters 3 08-25-2009 12:31 AM
Love Temperature Controller Question... Beer_Maker Equipment/Sanitation 1 06-26-2009 01:40 AM
temperature controller question elpresidente Equipment/Sanitation 3 09-15-2008 10:56 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS